BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1984 Paris - Roubaix

82nd edition: Sunday, April 8, 1984

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1985 edition | 1983 edition

265.5 km. 158 starters, 42 classified finishers

The race: Muddy and wet roads. Upon exiting the cobbled Wallers-Arenberg Forest, teammates Alain Bondue and Gregor Braun had a lead of almost a minute and a half. They decided to proceed rather than wait for their chasers. With forty kilometers to go Sean Kelly went after the pair, taking Rudy Rogiers with him. The connection was made but Braun was unable to stay with the other three and then Bondue was badly delayed by a crash. The sprint between Rogiers and Kelly was a formality and Kelly won Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

  1. Sean Kelly (Skil-Sem) 7hr 31min 35sec. 36.074 km/hr
  2. Rudy Rogiers (Splendor) s.t.
  3. Alain Bondue (La Redoute) @ 36sec
  4. Johan Van der Velde (Metauro Mobili) @ 4min 33sec
  5. Gregor Braun (La Redoute) s.t.
  6. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (La Redoute) @ 6min 16sec
  7. Jacques Hanegraaf (Kwantum) s.t.
  8. Patrick Versluys (Splendor) s.t.
  9. Hennie Kuiper (Kwantum) s.t.
  10. Rudy Matthijs (Splendor) @ 8min 28sec
  11. Adrie Van Houwelingen (Kwantum) s.t.
  12. Rudy Dhaenens (Splendor) s.t.
  13. Luc Colijn (Safir) @ 9min 29sec
  14. Pol Verschuere (Europ Decor) s.t.
  15. Ronny Van Holen (Safir) s.t.
  16. Jan Wijnants (Tonissteiner) s.t.
  17. Ludo Peeters (Kwantum) s.t.
  18. Flavio Zappi (Metauro Mobili) @ 10min 54sec
  19. Fons De Wolf (Europ Decor) s.t.
  20. Ferdi Van den Haute (La Redoute) s.t.
  21. Stephen Roche (La Redoute) s.t.
  22. Paul Haghedooren (Europ Decor) s.t.
  23. Stephen Mutter (Cilo-Aufina) @ 12min 2sec
  24. Frédéric Vichot (Skil-Sem) s.t.
  25. Jean-François Chaurin (Coop-Hoonved) @ 14min 58sec
  26. Yves Godimus (Fangio) s.t.
  27. Jean-Marie Wampers (Splendor) s.t.
  28. Eric Vanderaerden (Panasonic) s.t.
  29. Urs Freuler (Atala-Campagnolo) @ 17min 57sec
  30. Paul Sherwen (La Redoute) @ 21min 27sec
  31. Jean-Marie Grezet (Skil-Sem) s.t.
  32. Charly Berard (La Vie Claire) s.t.
  33. Dominique Lecrocq (Peugeot) @ 25min 7sec
  34. Paul Wellens (Ariostea) @ 25min 43sec
  35. Thierry Barrault (La Redoute) @ 27min 39sec
  36. Joop Zoetemelk (Kwantum) s.t.
  37. Michel Dernies (Fangio)s.t.
  38. Patrick Onnockx (Europ Decor) s.t.
  39. Jean-Claude Bagot (Skil-Sem) s.t.
  40. Michel Goffin (Splendor) @ 33min 53sec
  41. Jean-François Rault (La Vie Claire) @ 33min 53sec
  42. Jos Haex (Europ Decor) s.t.