BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1982 Paris - Roubaix

80th edition: Sunday, April 18, 1982

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1983 edition | 1981 edition

270.5 km. 182 starters, 43 classified finishers

Jan Raas

Jan Raas in 1980

The Race: At 20 kilometers to go the lead group was down to 9 strong men, including Jan Raas and his TI-Raleigh teammate Ludo Peeters, Bernard Hinault and Roger de Vlaeminck, who lacked his former punch. Peeters was sent off, forcing Hinault to drag the others, otherwise Peeters would win the race. When Peeters was caught, Raas immediately attacked. No one had the suds to keep Raas from riding into the Roubaix velodrome alone and winning Paris-Roubaix on his seventh attempt.

Complete Results:

  1. Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh) 7hr 21min 50sec. 36.733 km/hr
  2. Yvon Bertin (Mercier-Coop) @ 16sec
  3. Gregor Braun (Capri Sonne) s.t.
  4. Stefan Mutter (Puch-Eurotex) s.t.
  5. Eddy Planckaert (Splendor-Wickes) @ 37sec
  6. Roger de Vlaeminck (DAF Trucks) s.t.
  7. Marc Sergeant (Boule d'Or) s.t.
  8. Ludo Peeters (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  9. Bernard Hinault (Renault-Elf) s.t.
  10. Francesco Moser (Famcucine) @ 1min 37sec
  11. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (La Redoute) s.t.
  12. Sean Kelly (Sem-France Loire) s.t.
  13. Fons De Wolf (Vermeer-Thijs) s.t.
  14. Patrick Versluys (Boule d'Or) s.t.
  15. Hennie Kuiper (DAF Trucks) @ 2min 38sec
  16. Paul Haghedooren (Capri Sonne) @ 3min 17sec
  17. Stephen Roche (Peugeot) s.t.
  18. Joanathan Boyer (Sem-France Loire) s.t.
  19. Pol Verschuere (Vermeer-Thijs) s.t.
  20. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot) s.t.
  21. Jean-Louis Gauthier (Mercier-Coop) s.t.
  22. Adrie Van Houwelingen (Vermeer-Thijs) s.t.
  23. Patrick Pevenage (Europdecor) @ 7min 59sec
  24. Jozef Jacobs (Vermeer-Thijs) @ 8min 55sec
  25. Silvano Contini (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
  26. Tommy Prim (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
  27. Klaus-Peter Thaler (Puch-Eurotex) s.t.
  28. Marcel Tinazzi (Sem-France Loire) s.t.
  29. Ludwig Wijnants (Boule d'Or) s.t.
  30. Frank Hoste (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  31. Etienne De Wilde (La Redoute) @ 13min 38sec
  32. Adrie Van Der Poel (DAF Trucks) @ 15min 11sec
  33. Dirk Demol (DAF Trucks) s.t.
  34. Philippe Poisonnier (Safir-Concorde) s.t.
  35. Marc Madiot (Renault-Elf) s.t.
  36. Pascal Jules (Renault-Elf) @ 17min 46sec
  37. Gerrie Van Gerwen (DAF Trucks) s.t.
  38. Uwe Bolten (Kotter's-Bibione) @ 19min 2sec
  39. Etienne De Beule (Europdecor) @ 20min 55sec
  40. Cédric Rossier (Cilo-Aufina) @ 21min 34sec
  41. Alain Gallopin (Sem-France Loire) s.t.
  42. Patrick Moerlen (Cilo-Aufina) @ 29min 58sec
  43. Pascal Poisson (Renault-Elf) s.t.