BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1964 Paris - Roubaix

62nd edition: Sunday, April 19, 1964

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1965 edition | 1963 edition

265 km. 137 starters, 81 classified finishers. At 45.129 km, this wind-aided edition is still the fastest-ever Paris-Roubaix.

Rain, strong tailwind. By about 160 kilometers into the race, the major selection had occurred and neither Rik van Looy nor Raymond Poulidor had made the cut. From there it was a matter of attrition from flat tires, mechanicals and rider exhaustion, until there were only four to contest the sprint. Peter Post had Willy Bocklant for help and world champion Benoni Beheyt had teammate Yvo Molenaers to lead him out. Post easily won the sprint to become the first Dutchman to win Paris-Roubaix.

Peter Post

Complete results:

  1. Peter Post (Flandria-Romeo) 5hr 52min 19sec. 45.129 km/hr
  2. Benoni Beheyt (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  3. Yvo Molenaers (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  4. Willy Bocklant (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  5. Louis Proost (Solo-Superia) @ 2min 28sec
  6. Frans Melckenbeeck (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson ) @ 2min 32sec
  7. Jean Stablinski (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop ) s.t.
  8. Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  9. Gilbert Desmet (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  10. Tom Simpson (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  11. Rudi Altig (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) @ 2min 55sec
  12. Edward Sels (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  13. Jozef Planckaert (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  14. Noël Foré (Flandria-Romeo) @ 3min 3sec
  15. Frans Verbeeck (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  16. Rik van Looy (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  17. Jacques de Boever (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  18. Jo De Roo (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) @ 3min 14sec
  19. Bernard Vanderkerckhove (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  20. Joseph Groussard (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 3min 27sec
  21. Anatole Novak (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  22. Cees Haast (Televizier) s.t.
  23. Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 3min 52sec
  24. Italo Zilioli (Carpano) s.t.
  25. Gerrit De Wit (Bertin-Porter 39-Milremo) @ 4min 50sec
  26. François Mahé (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  27. Hans Junkermann (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 5min 22sec
  28. Jean-Baptiste Claes (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  29. Arthur De Cabooter (Solo-Superia) @ 5min 36sec
  30. Jan Lauwers (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  31. Frans Aerenhouts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 5min 50sec
  32. Emile Daems (Peugeot-BP) @ 6min 14sec
  33. Guido De Rosso (Molteni) s.t.
  34. Jean-Claude Annaert (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  35. Dick Enthoven (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  36. August Verhaegen (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  37. Michael Wright (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 6min 33sec
  38. Seamus Elliott (St. Raphaël-Gitane) @ 6min 45sec
  39. Marcel Janssens (Labo-Mann) s.t.
  40. André Darrigade (Margnat-Paloma) s.t.
  41. Vittorio Adorni (Salvarani) @ 6min 55sec
  42. Carmine Preziosi (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 8min 38sec
  43. Piet Van Est (Televizier) s.t.
  44. Barry Hoban (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  45. Gianni Marcarini (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 9min 19sec
  46. Léon Van Daele (Mann) s.t.
  47. Josef Verachtert s.t.
  48. Léo Van Dongen (Televizier) s.t.
  49. Robert Lelangue (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  50. Franco Cribori (Gazzola) @ 11min 35sec
  51. Henri De Wolf (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  52. Marino Vigna (Gazzola) s.t.
  53. Etienne Vercauteren (Labo-Mann)s.t.
  54. Lambert Van de Ven (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  55. Robert Cazala (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  56. Cees Lute (St. Raphaël-Gitane) s.t.
  57. Victor van Schil (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  58. Léon Sebregts (Labo-Mann) s.t.
  59. Romain Van Wynsberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  60. Henk Nijdam (Televizier) s.t.
  61. Walter Martin (Carpano) @ 13min 53sec
  62. Paul Vermeulen (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  63. Pierino Baffi (Molteni) @ 14min 17sec
  64. Jean Milesi (Margnat-Paloma) s.t.
  65. Jean Graczyk (Margnat-Paloma) s.t.
  66. Edgard Sorgeloos (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  67. Guillaume Van Tongerloo (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  68. Clément Roman (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  69. Gustaaf Van Vaerenbergh (Bertin-Porter 39-Milremo) s.t.
  70. Georges Decraeye (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  71. Italo Mazzacurati (Salvarani) s.t.
  72. Joseph Novalés (Margnat-Paloma) s.t.
  73. Armand Desmet (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  74. Ludo Janssens (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  75. Eddy Pauwels (Margnat-Paloma) s.t.
  76. Pierre Le Mellec (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  77. Vittorio Casati (Carpano) @ 16min 57sec
  78. Raymond Mastrotto (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  79. Jozef Wouters (Libertas) s.t.
  80. Roger De Coninck (Libertas) s.t.
  81. Jean-Pierre Van Haverbeke (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.