BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1906 Paris - Roubaix

11th edition: Sunday, April 15, 1906

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1905 edition | 1907 edition

270 km. 27.123 km/hr

71 numbers assigned, but 51 riders started; 14 classified finishers.

Cold, light rain at sign-in. The sun broke through at the start.

Henri Cornet and Marcel Cadolle arrived at the velodrome together with Cornet easily winning the sprint. There were 15 finishers, but Marceau Narcy was declassified for failing to sign in at the Arras stop.

Henri Cornet was the winner of the Tour de France in 1904 after the first four leaders were disqualified for cheating. 1906 Paris-Roubaix third place Pottier went on to win the Tour this same year.

Complete Results:

  1. Henri Cornet: 9hr 59min 30sec
  2. Marcel Cadolle (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  3. René Pottier (Peugeot) @ 5min 15sec
  4. Louis Trousselier (Peugeot) @ 8min 45sec
  5. César Garin (La Française) @ 14min 45sec
  6. Hippolyte Aucouturier (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 21min 45sec
  7. Georges Passerieu (Peugeot) @ 23min 45sec
  8. Emile Georget (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 2hr 0min 45sec
  9. F. Saint @ 2hr 25min 45sec
  10. Georges Fleury (Rochet) @ 2hr 35min 45sec
  11. Prosper Rau (Conte) @ 3hr 20min 45sec
  12. Georges Bronchard (Biguet) @ 3hr 50min 45sec
  13. Jacques Mendes @ 6hr 50min 30sec
  14. Honoré Genin @ 11hr 0min 45sec