BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1999 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

53rd edition: February 27, 1999

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1998 edition | 2000 edition

Ghent-Lokeren, 202 km / 38.846 km/hr
193 starters / 44 classified finishers

Frank Vandenbourcker

Frank Vandenbroucke has escaped with Wilfried Peeters in the race's closing kilometers. TDW photo

The race: Fran Vandenbroucke won the first important race on the 1999 Belgian calender.

Historically, this race is contested with extraordinary aggression and the 1999 edition, raced in very cold rain, was no exception. The usual sets of breakaways attacking and getting caught played out over most of the race.

On a stretch of pave in the closing kilometers the big move went away: Frank Vandenbroucke, Tom Steels, Wilfried Peeters, Johan Museeuw, Andrei Tchmil, Jo Planckaert, Wim Feys, Peter van Petegem (winner in 1997 and '98) and Servais Knaven. Vandenbroucke was unique in having no teammates in this powerful break.

From this break the attacks shot off, but it was Vandenbroucke's move that was the one that succeeded. Wilfried Peeters was able catch his wheel, but Vandenbroucke was on song that day. Peeters could do no more than hang on.

Vandenbroucke noted that Peeters was in a large gear. Vandenbroucke downshifted, jumped away and that was the race.

Complete Results:

1 Frank Vandenbroucke  Cofidis 5hr 12min
2 Wilfried Peeters  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
3 Tom Steels  Mapei-Quick Step @ 34sec
4 Andrei Tchmil  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
5 Jo Planckaert  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
6 Johan Museeuw  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
7 Servais Knaven  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
8 Peter Van Petegem  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
9 Wim Feys  Lotto-Mobistar 35''
10 Chris Peers  Lotto-Mobistar 1'44''
11 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
12 Tristan Hoffman  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
13 Steven De Jongh  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
14 Fabian De Waele  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
15 Hendrik Van Dyck  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
16 Lars Michaelsen  La Française des Jeux s.t.
17 Max Van Heeswijk  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
18 Romans Vainsteins  Vini Caldirola s.t.
19 Robbie McEwen  Rabobank s.t.
20 Frédéric Moncassin  Crédit Agricole 1'44''
21 Mario Aerts  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
22 Bert Dietz  Team Nürnberger s.t.
23 Rolf Sørensen  Rabobank s.t.
24 Arvis Piziks  Team Home-Jack & Jones s.t.
25 Stuart O'Grady  Crédit Agricole s.t.
26 Leon Van Bon  Rabobank s.t.
27 Daniele Nardello  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
28 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
29 Magnus Bäckstedt  Crédit Agricole s.t.
30 Enrico Cassani  Polti 2'55''
31 Fabio Sacchi  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
32 Stive Vermaut  Vlaanderen 2002 s.t.
33 Bert Roesems  Tönissteiner s.t.
34 Kurt Van Lancker  Vlaanderen 2002 s.t.
35 Steve De Wolf  Cofidis s.t.
36 Nicolay Bo Larsen  Team Home-Jack & Jones s.t.
37 Cristian Moreni  Liquigas s.t.
38 Jan Schaffrath  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
39 Rolf Aldag  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
40 Geert Van Bondt  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
41 Axel Merckx  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
42 Zbigniew Spruch  Lampre-Daikin 4'35''
43 Maarten Den Bakker  Rabobank 5'55''
44 Jesper Skibby  Team Home-Jack & Jones s.t.