BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2000 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Omloop Het Nieuwsblad"

54th edition: February 26, 2000

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1999 edition | 2001 edition

Ghent-Lokeren, 204 km / 40.664 km/hr
195 starters / 66 classified finishers

Johan Museeuw

A perfectly fit Johan Museeuw wins after a perfectly timed set of attacks.

The race: Unlike recent editions of this race, the 2000 edition of the Omloop Het Volk got off to a relatively easy start. The peloton was content to race slower than 39 km/hr for the first couple of hours.

There were eleven climbs in this race, the Molenberg being the last, confronting the riders with 55 kilometers to go. By this point the peloton had broken into three groups, with the best riders having made their way into the front group. Among them were Andrei Tchmil, Johan Museeuw, Franco Ballerini, Daniele Nardello, Tom Steels, Romans Vainsteins and Steffen Wesemann. 1999 winner Frank Vandenbroucke was initially with the leaders, but didn't have the horsepower to stay with them this year.

It was the patch of pave with fifty to go that did the job. Museeuw attacked. Wesemann, Knaven and Ballerini knew the race was being decided right there and were quickly on the powerful Belgian's wheel. The peloton never saw the quartet again.

Museeuw was enjoying extraordinary form that day. With thirteen kilometers still left to race, he attacked again, and there was nothing the other three could do. Museeuw drove home to finish, crossing the line nearly a minute ahead of his former breakaway companions.

This was Museeuw's first Het Volk win. A few weeks later he would go on to win his second of his three victories in Paris-Roubaix.

Complete Results:

There is disagreement regarding some placings, starting with 18th place. The superb Memoire du Cyclisme gives Jimmy Casper 18th rather than Lars Michaelsen. Both rode for FDJ in 2000. There are about five other placings for which there are differing records. I have done my best to post the most accurate possible results list.

1 Johan Museeuw  Mapei-Quick Step 5hr 1min
2 Steffen Wesemann  Deutsche Telekom @ 52sec
3 Servais Knaven  Farm Frites s.t.
4 Franco Ballerini  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
5 Romans Vainsteins  Vini Caldirola-Sidermec @ 1min 52sec
6 Tom Steels  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
7 Tristan Hoffman  Memory Card-Jack & Jones s.t.
8 Andrei Tchmil  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
9 Jan Kirsipuu AG2R Prévoyance-Décathlon s.t.
10 Daniele Nardello  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
11 Jo Planckaert  Cofidis s.t.
12 Kai Hundertmarck  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
13 Chris Peers  Cofidis s.t.
14 Mario Aerts  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
15 Andreas Klier  Farm Frites 2min 22sec
16 Stuart O'Grady  Crédit Agricole s.t.
17 Jan Schaffrath  Deutsche Telekom 3min 14sec
18 Lars Michaelsen FDJ s.t.
19 Lauri Aus  AG2R Prévoyance-Décathlon s.t.
20 Alessandro Baronti  Cantina Tollo-Regain s.t.
21 Stéphane Barthe  AG2R Prévoyance-Décathlon s.t.
22 Jean-Patrick Nazon FDJ s.t.
23 Bart Leysen  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
24 Ludovic Auger  Big Mat-Auber 93 s.t.
25 Oleg Pankov  Collstrop s.t.
26 Guido Trenti Cantina Tollo-Regain s.t.
27 Martin Van Steen  Farm Frites s.t.
28 Laurent Brochard  Jean Delatour s.t.
29 Tom Desmet  Tonissteiner-Colnago s.t.
30 Ronny Assez  Flanders - Prefektex s.t.
31 Mirko Celestino  Polti s.t.
32 Wilfried Peeters  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
33 Paul Van Hyfte  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
34 Roger Hammond  Collstrop s.t.
35 Frank Corvers Memory Card-Jack & Jones s.t.
36 Nico Mattan Cofidis s.t.
37 Nico Eeckhout  Palmans-Ideal s.t.
38 Thierry Marichal  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
39 Geert Omloop  Collstrop s.t.
40 Ralf Grabsch  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
41 Geert Verheyen  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
42 Simone Bertoletti Lampre-Daikin s.t.
43 Kurt Van Lancker  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
44 Fabian De Waele  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
45 Karsten Kroon  Rabobank s.t.
46 Peter Van Petegem  Farm Frites s.t.
47 Wim Feys  Palmans-Ideal s.t.
48 Jurgen Guns  Vlaanderen 2002 s.t.
49 Enrico Cassani  Polti s.t.
50 Hans De Clercq  Palmans – Ideal s.t.
51 Steve De Wolf  Cofidis s.t.
52 Fabio Secchi  Polti s.t.
53 Michel Van Haecke  Tonissteiner-Colnago s.t.
54 Kristof Trouve Vlaanderen 2002 s.t.
55 Gabriele Missaglia  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
56 Rolf Sorensen Rabobank s.t.
57 Paolo Fornaciari Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
58 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
59 Matthias Kessler  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
60 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
61 Frédéric Guesdon  FDJ s.t.
62 Coen Boermam Rabobank s.t.
63 Frank Vandenbroucke  Cofidis s.t.
64 Emmanuel Magnien  FDJ s.t.
65 Jan Boven Rabobank 4min 32sec
66 Christophe Mengin FDJ 5min 4sec