BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1973 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

28th edition: March 3, 1973

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1972 edition | 1974 edition

Gent - Gent, 198 km / 42.888 km/hr
129 starters / 36 classified finishers

Eddy MErckx and Roger de Vlaeminck

Winner Eddy Merckx and second-place Roger de Vlaeminck on their winning break.

Eddy Merckx & Roger de Vlaeminck

Another shot of the de Vlaeminck-Merckx break

Complete Results:

1 Eddy Merckx  Molteni 4hr 37min
2 Roger De Vlaeminck  Brooklyn @ 2sec
3 Albert Van Vlierberghe  Rokado @ 1min 3sec
4 Noël Vantyghem  Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter s.t.
5 Walter Godefroot  Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter @ 1min 25sec
6 Herman Van Springel  Rokado s.t.
7 Eric Leman  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
8 Walter Planckaert  Watney-Maes s.t.
9 Frans Verbeeck  Watney-Maes s.t.
10 Cees Bal  Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
11 André Dierickx  Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter s.t.
12 Jacky Mourioux  Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
13 Jean-Claude Meunier  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
14 Willy De Geest  Rokado s.t.
15 Ludo Van Der Linden  Molteni s.t.
16 Herman Van Der Slagmolen  Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter s.t.
17 Jos  De Schoenmaecker  Molteni s.t.
18 Joseph Abelshausen  IJsboerke - Bertin s.t.
19 Arthur Van De Vijver  Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter s.t.
20 Antoine Houbrechts  Rokado s.t.
21 Eddy Moreels  Hertekamp s.t.
22 Adolf Huysmans  Goldor - Gerka s.t.
23 Georges Barras  IJsboerke - Bertin s.t.
24 Michel Van Vlierden  IJsboerke - Bertin s.t.
25 Julien Stevens  Brooklyn s.t.
26 Lucien De Brauwere  Flandria-Shimano-Carpenter s.t.
27 Roger Gilson  Rokado s.t.
28 Isidore Weemaes  Hertekamp s.t.
29 Gustaaf Hermans  Rokado s.t.
30 Rik Van Linden  Rokado s.t.
31 Jose Van Ackere  Novy-Romy Pils s.t.
32 Georges Pintens  Rokado s.t.
33 Karl-Heinz Muddemann  Rokado s.t.
34 Ferdinand Peersman  Rokado s.t.
35 Christian De Buysschere  Hertekamp s.t.
36 Victor Van Schil  Molteni s.t.