BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1972 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

27th edition: March 4, 1972

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1971 edition | 1973 edition

Gent - Gent, 198 km / 40.824 km/hr
149 starters / 71 classified finishers

Frans Verbeeck & Eddy merckx

Winner Frans Verbeeck talks with Eddy Merckx before the start of the race.

Frans Verbeeck

Frans Verbeeck pulls the lead group part way through the race with Eddy Merckx on his wheel.

Complete Results:

1 Frans Verbeeck  Watney-Avia 4hr 51min
2 André Dierickx  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
3 Eddy Merckx  Molteni s.t.
4 Willy De Geest  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
5 Joseph Abelshausen  Watney-Avia @ 16sec
6 Rolf Wolfshohl  Rokado s.t.
7 Walter Godefroot  Peugeot-Michelin-BP 28''
8 Walter Planckaert  Watney-Avia s.t.
9 Noël Vantyghem  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
10 Jacky Mourioux  Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
11 Georges Claes Goldor-IJsboerke s.t.
12 Willy Vekemans  Rokado s.t.
13 Emile Cambre  s.t.
14 Frans Mintjens  Molteni s.t.
15 Herman Vrijders  Goldor-IJsboerke 34''
16 Daniel Verplancke  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
17 Georges Pintens  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
18 Gilbert Wuytack  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
19 Ronald De Witte  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
20 Valère Van Sweevelt  Goldor-IJsboerke s.t.
21 Joseph Bruyère  Molteni s.t.
22 Alain Santy  Bic 4'00''
23 Wim Kelleners  Rokado 4'52''
24 Leopold Van Den Neste  Siriki-Munck-Gitane s.t.
25 Eddy Peelman  Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
26 Dirk Baert  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
27 Raphael Hooyberghs  Watney-Avia s.t.
28 Barry Hoban  Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
29 Enzo Mattioda  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
30 Hubert Hutsebaut  Goldor-IJsboerke s.t.
31 Ronny Christiaens  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
32 Willy Abbeloos  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
33 Guy Santy  Bic s.t.
34 Mathijs De Koning  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
35 Eddy Cael  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
36 Adolf Huysmans  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
37 Rudy De Groote  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
38 André Peirsman  Hertekamp s.t.
39 Frans Verhaegen  Hertekamp s.t.
40 Roger Gilson  Rokado s.t.
41 Hugo De Haes  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
42 Jan Page  Siriki-Munck-Gitane s.t.
43 Ghislain Van Landeghem  Hertekamp s.t.
44 Johan Hinneman  Siriki-Munck-Gitane s.t.
45 Francis Ducreux  Bic s.t.
46 Pieter Nassen  Watney-Avia s.t.
47 Michel Van Vlierden  Molteni s.t.
48 Charles De Smit  Hertekamp s.t.
49 Aimé Delaere  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
50 Marc Sohet  Watney-Avia s.t.
51 Noël De Pauw  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
52 Michel Coulon  Watney-Avia s.t.
53 Jan Krekels  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
54 Marc Demeyer  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
55 Joop Zoetemelk  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
56 Francis Campaner  Bic s.t.
57 Ben Janbroers  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
58 Daniel Rebillard  Sonolor s.t.
59 Roger Desmarets  Bic s.t.
60 Désiré Letort  Bic s.t.
61 Albert Fritz  Rokado s.t.
62 Huub Harings  s.t.
63 Louis Pfenninger  Rokado s.t.
64 Adri Duycker  Novy-Dubble Bubble s.t.
65 Romain Maes  s.t.
66 André Doyen  Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy s.t.
67 Lucien van Impe Sonolor s.t.
68 Giovanni José Jimenez Hertekamp s.t.
69 Marc Lievens  Molteni s.t.
70 Guy Maingon  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
71 Herman Van Der Slagmolen  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.