BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1971 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

26th edition: March 25, 1971

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1970 edition | 1972 edition

Gent - Gent, 198 km / 41.684 km/hr
131 starters / 55 classified finishers

Eddy Merckx

Eddy Merckx wins the 1971 Omloop Het Volk.

Complete Results:

1 Eddy Merckx  Molteni 4hr 45min
2 Roger Rosiers  Bic @ 1min 53sec
3 Noël Vantyghem  Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy s.t.
4 Joseph Bruyère  Molteni s.t.
5 Joseph Abelshausen  Watney-Avia s.t.
6 Jos  De Schoenmaecker  Molteni s.t.
7 Joseph Huysmans  Molteni 2'00''
8 Guido Reybrouck  Salvarani 2'27''
9 Jürgen Tschan  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
10 Cees Rentmeester  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
11 Harry Steevens  Goudsmit-Hoff 2'40''
12 Frans Kerremans  Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy s.t.
13 Roger Swerts  Molteni 2'45''
14 Willy Scheers  Goldor 3'55''
15 Raymond Steegmans  Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy s.t.
16 Walter Planckaert  Goldor s.t.
17 Walter Godefroot  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
18 Jacky Mourioux  Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
19 Gerben Karstens  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
20 Emile Bodart  Watney-Avia s.t.
21 Jan Janssen  Bic s.t.
22 Harrie Jansen  Sonolor-Lejeune s.t.
23 Jan Krekels  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
24 Marinus Wagtmans  Molteni s.t.
25 Michael Wright  Bic s.t.
26 André Mollet  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
27 Pol Mahieu  Watney-Avia s.t.
28 Eric Leman  Mars-Flandria s.t.
29 André Dierickx  Watney-Avia s.t.
30 Joseph Spruyt  Molteni s.t.
31 Frans Mintjens  Molteni s.t.
32 Jacques Cadiou  Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
33 Roger De Vlaeminck  Mars-Flandria s.t.
34 Willy In't Ven  Mars-Flandria 4'11''
35 Eddy Peelman  Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson s.t.
36 José Catieau  Sonolor-Lejeune 5'25''
37 Marc Sohet  Bic s.t.
38 Daniel Verplancke  Mars-Flandria s.t.
39 Franky Ebo  Goldor s.t.
40 Désiré Letort  Bic s.t.
41 Eddy Goossens  Siriki - Munck s.t.
42 Herman Van Springel  Molteni s.t.
43 Willy Van Den Eynde  Watney-Avia 13'15''
44 Daan Holst  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
45 Jean-pierre Berckmans  Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy s.t.
46 Jean-Jacques Sanquer  Sonolor-Lejeune s.t.
47 Karl-heinz Muddemann  Mars-Flandria s.t.
48 Robert Mintkiewicz  Sonolor-Lejeune s.t.
49 Jacques Botherel  Hoover-De Gribaldy-Wolber s.t.
50 Wim Prinsen  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
51 Alain Vasseur  Bic s.t.
52 Gérard Harings  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
53 Jan Van Katwijk  Goudsmit-Hoff s.t.
54 Yves Hézard  Sonolor-Lejeune s.t.
55 Serge Guillaume  Hoover-De Gribaldy-Wolber mt