BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1962 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

17th edition: March 10, 1962

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1961 edition | 1963 edition

Gent - Gent, 218.3km / 38.866 km/hr
129 starters / 54 classified finishers

Robert de Middeleir

1962 Omloop Het Volk winner Robert de Middeleir in 1964 or 1965

Complete Results:

Though they are all given the same time, there is much doubt that places 19 though 54 actually finished at same time.

1 Robert De Middeleir  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw 5hr 37min
2 Jean-Baptiste Claes  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw @ 1min 45sec
3 Roger De Coninck  Dr. Mann 2'10''
4 Robert Vandecaveye  Flandria-Faema-Clement 2'48''
5 Frans De Mulder  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
6 Norbert Kerckhove  Dr. Mann s.t.
7 Robert Lelangue  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
8 Dieter Puschel  Ruberg s.t.
9 Jan Zagers  Libertas s.t.
10 Victor Van Schil  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
11 Daniel Denys  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
12 Guillaume Demaer  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
13 Alfons Hermans  Dr. Mann s.t.
14 Léopold Rosseel  Bertin s.t.
15 Daniel Doom  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
16 Albert Van D'huynslager  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
17 Joseph Schils  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP 4'50''
18 Eddy Pauwels  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw 5'05''
19 Lode Troonbeeckx  Dr. Mann s.t.
20 Jan Van Gompel  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
21 Léopold Schaeken  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
22 Joseph Wouters  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
23 Petrus Oellibrandt  Dr. Mann s.t.
24 José Thumas  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
25 Leo Coehorst  Wolber s.t.
26 Etienne Vercauteren  Libertas s.t.
27 Simon Leborgne  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
28 Constant Goossens  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
29 Henri De Wolf  Gitane-Geminiani-Leroux s.t.
30 José Rodrigo  s.t.
31 Jean-Marie Poppe  Bertin s.t.
32 Roger Baens  Flandria-Faema-Clement s.t.
33 Hugo Verlinden  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
34 Hans Junkermann  Torpedo s.t.
35 René Vanderveken  Solo-Van Steenbergen s.t.
36 François Le Her  St.Raphael-Helyett s.t.
37 Lucien Mathys  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
38 Leon Vandaele  Dr. Mann s.t.
39 André Messelis  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
40 Edouard Bihouee  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
41 René Van Meenen  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
42 Willy Vannitsen  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
43 Willy Derboven  Flandria-Faema-Clement s.t.
44 Marcel Delattre  St.Raphael-Helyett s.t.
45 Clément Roman  Flandria-Faema-Clement s.t.
46 Henri Van Den Bossche  Bertin s.t.
47 Ludo Janssens  Flandria-Faema-Clement s.t.
48 Pierre Rebiffe  s.t.
49 Jean Riou  s.t.
50 Jean-Claude Lebaube  Gitane-Geminiani-Leroux s.t.
51 Gabriel Borra  Flandria-Faema-Clement s.t.
52 Orphée Meneghini  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
53 Wim Van Est  Liberia - Grammont s.t.
54 Willy Vermote  s.t.