BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Cycling's World Championships: The Inside Story Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Championship of Zurich
(Meisterschaft von Zurich or Züri Metzgete)

The Zurich Championship was Round 8 in the old World Cup series. In 2005 it became a Pro Tour race. Because of difficulty in finding sponsorship for the race, the 2007 edition was not held. When it came back in 2008 the Championship of Zurich became an Under-23 race. Because this is a classification beyond the scope of this web site, this page won't be updated but will remain posted for its historical interest.

Henri Suter holds the record for Zurich race wins with 6 victories


1st place

2nd Place

3rd Place

1914 Henri Rheinwald Otto Wiedmer Robert Chopard
1917 Charles Martinet Joseph Zorloni Pasquale Valentini
1918 Anton Sieger Jakob Sieger Heinrich Wegmann
1919 Henri Suter Emil Strasser Hans Lienhard
1920 Henri Suter Joseph Zorloni Francois Francescon
1921 Ricardo Maffeo Aldo Datweiler Alfred L.F. Datwiler
1922 Henri Suter Hermann Gehrig Louis Krauss
1923 Adolf Huschke Henri Suter Kastor Notter
1924 Henri Suter Kastor Notter Max Suter
1925 Hans Kaspar Henry Reymond Marcel Perriere
1926 Albert Blattmann Otto Lehner Oskar Tietz
1927 Kastor Notter Oskar Tietz Felix Manthey
1928 Heinri suter Albert Meyer Henry Reymond
1929 Henri Suter Ludwig Geyer Jozef Zind
1930 Omer Taverne Desire Louesse Max Bulla
1931 Max Bulla Karl Altenburger Albert Buchi
1932 Auguste Erne Alfred Bula Karl Altenburger
1933 Walter Blattmann Alfred Bula Willy Kutschbach
1934 Paul Egli August Erne Alfred Bula
1935 Paul Egli Leo Amberg Walter Blattmann
1936 Werner Buchwalder Jean Wauters August Erne
1937 Leo Amberg Edgar Buchwalder Werner Buchwalder
1938 Hans Martin Walter Blattmann Paul Egli
1939 Karl Litschi Werner Buchwalder Wlater Gross
1940 Robert Zimmermann Walter Diggelmann Rudolf Breitenmoser
1941 Walter Diggelmann Hans Maag Paul Egli
1942 Paul Egli Wlater Diggelmann Hans Knecht
1943 Ferdi Kubler Kurt Zaug Walter Diggelmann
1944 Ernst Naef Ernest Kuhn Hans Knecht
1945 Leo Wielemann Hans Maag Ernst Naef
1946 Gino Bartali Fausto Coppi Hans Bolliger
1947 Charles Guyot Renzo Zanazzi Ferdi Kubler
1948 Gino Bartali Ernst Stettler Hans Schutz
1949 Fritz Schaer Camille Danguillaume Gottfried Wielenmann
1950 Fritz Schaer Ferdi Kubler Desire Keteleer
1951 Jean Brun Fritz Schaer Hans Sommer
1952 Hugo Koblet Carlo Clerici Fritz Schaer
1953 Eugen Kamber Armando Para Carlo Clerici
1954 Hugo Koblet Eugen Kamber Jean Brun
1955 Max Schellenberg Carlo Lafranchi Roland Callebout
1956 Carlo Clerici Giuseppe Cainero Heinz Graf
1957 Hans Junkermann Ricardo Filippi Ludo Van der Elst
1958 Giuseppe Cainero Hans Junkermann Heinz Graf
1959 Angelo Conterno Heinz Graf Otto Altweck
1960 Alfred Ruegg Alcide Vaucher Arrigo Padovan
1961 Rolf Maurer Heinz Graf Andre Noyelle
1962 Jan Janssen Marc Ongenae Raf Gijsels
1963 Franco Balmmion Angelo Conterno Vendramio Bariviera
1964 Guido Reybrouck Gastone Nencini Robert Hintermuller
1965 Franco Bitossi Roland Zoeffel Jan Hugens
1966 Italo Zilioli Luciano Armani Francis Blanc
1967 Robert Hagmann Paul Zollinger Louis Pfenninger
1968 Franco Bitossi V. Van Sweevelt Marino Basso
1969 Roger Swerts Eddy Beugels Roger De Vlaeminck
1970 Walter Godefroot Frans Mintjens Andre Dierickx
1971 Herman Van Springel Romano Tumellero Roland Berland
1972 Willy Vanneste Vic Van Schil Andre Poppe
1973 Andre Dierickx Hennie Kuyper Luc De Brauwere
1974 Walter Godefroot Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck Frans Verbeeck
1975 Roger De Vlaeminck Eddy Merckx Francesco Moser
1976 Freddy Maertens Roger De Vlaeminck Walter Godefroot
1977 Francesco Moser Ron De Witte Walter Godefroot
1978 Didi Thurau Francesco Moser Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck
1979 Giuseppe Saronni Francesco Moser Marc Demeyer
1980 Gery Verlinden Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande Stephan Mutter
1981 Beat Breu Henry Rinklin Daniel Willems
1982 Adri Van der Poel Hubert Seiz Tommy Prim
1983 Johan Van de Velde Gilbert Glaus Fritz Pirard
1984 Phil Anderson Hubert Seiz Pierino Gavazzi
1985 Ludo Peeters Mari Beccia Steve Bauer
1986 Acacio Da Silva Steve Bauer Adri Van der Poel
1987 Rolf Golz Raul Alcala Camillo Passera
1988 Steven Rooks Rolf Sorensen Tony Rominger
1989 Steve Bauer Acacio da Silva Rolf Golz
1990 Charly mottet Greg Lemond Claudio Chiappucci
1991 Johan Museeuw Laurent Jalabert Max Sciandri
1992 Viatscheslav Ekimov Lance Armstrong Jan Nevens
1993 Maurizio Fondriest Charly Mottet Bruno Cenghialta
1994 Gianluca Botolami Johan Museeuw Maurizio Fondriest
1995 Johan Museeuw Gianni Bugno Giorgio Furlan
1996 Andrea Ferrigato Michele Bartoli Johan Museeuw
1997 Davide Rebellin Jan Ullrich Rolf Sorensen
1998 Michele Bartoli Frank Vandenbroucke Salvatore Comesso
1999 Gregor Gwiazdowski Sergio Barbero Andrei Tchmil
2000 Laurent Dufaux Jan Ullrich Francesco Casagrande
2001 Paolo Bettini Jan Ullrich Fernando Escartin
2002 Dario Frigo Paolo Bettini Lance Armstrong
2003 Daniele Nardello Jan Ullrich Paolo Bettini
241 km
Juan Antonio Flecha
6hr 13min 25sec
Paolo Bettini
@ s.t.
Jerome Pineau
@ s.t.
241 km
Paolo Bettini
6hr 6min 22sec 
Frank Schleck
@ 2min 57sec
Lorenzo Bernucci
@ s.t.
233.7 km
Samuel Sanchez
6hr 3min 47sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 30sec
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.