BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1970 Giro di Lombardia results
(Tour of Lombardy)

64th edition: Saturday, October 10, 1970

Giro di Lombardia podium history | 1971 edition | 1969 edition |

133 starters, 26 classified finishers
Milano - Como, 266 km
Winner's average speed: 38.24 km/hr

The Race: Franco Bitossi explains how he won: "[Felice] Gimondi was away. Merckx was chasing him and [Gianni] Motta sat on Merckx's wheel. Motta was Gimondi's teammate so he was doing what he could to slow Merckx. Merckx would attack and try to catch Gimondi but he always had Motta with him. I just sat behind them as they exhausted themselves attacking and chasing. Finally I could see that Merckx had done what he could and that both he and Motta were no longer threats and that Gimondi had been out in the wind for a long time. Boom, I took off and flew away from them and came in alone to win the race."

Franco Bitossi in the 1969 Giro

Franco Bitossi in the 1969 Giro d'Italia

Complete Results:

  1. Franco Bitossi (Filotex) 6hr 57min 22sec
  2. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) s.t.
  3. Gianni Motta (Salvarani) @ 2min 17sec
  4. Eddy Merckx (Faema-Faemino) s.t.
  5. Herman van Springel (Mann-Grundig)
  6. Ole Ritter (Germanvox-Wega) s.t.
  7. Luis Ocana (Bic) s.t.
  8. Enrico Maggioni (Ferretti) s.t.
  9. Michele Dancelli (Molteni) @ 5min 17sec
  10. William "Billy" Bilsland (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) @ 6min 42sec
  11. Marino Basso (Molteni) @ 7min 46sec
  12. Marcello Bergamo (Filotex) s.t.
  13. Frans Verbeeck (Geens-Watney-Diamant) s.t.
  14. Willy In't Ven (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  15. Antoine Houbrechts (Salvarani) s.t.
  16. Roberto Poggiali (Salvarani) s.t.
  17. Constantino Conti (SCIC) s.t.
  18. Gösta Pettersson (Ferretti) s.t.
  19. Noël van Clooster (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
  20. Aldo Moser (Zimba-GBC) s.t.
  21. Louis Pfenninger (Zimba-GBC) s.t.
  22. Adriano Passuello (Dreher) s.t.
  23. Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
  24. Roger Pingeon (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
  25. Raymond Delisle (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
  26. Donato Giuliani (Filotex) s.t.