BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories book South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1981 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

65th edition: Sunday, April 5, 1981

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1982 edition | 1980 edition

267 km. 40.65 km/hr
184 starters, 45 classified finishers

Ascents: Oude Kwaremont, Koppenberg, Taaienberg, Eikenberg, Volkegemberg, Varent, Steenberg, Pijpketel, Muur van Geraardsbergen, Bosberg, Nellekensberg

Hennie kluiper

Hennie Kuiper wins the Tour of Flanders in style.

Complete results:

  1. Hennie Kuiper (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) 6hr 32min 37sec.
  2. Frits Pirard (Boule d'Or-Sunair-Colnago) @ 1min 3sec
  3. Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh) @ 1min 6sec
  4. Jacques Bossis (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
  5. Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (La Redoute) s.t.
  6. Roger de Vlaeminck (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) @ 1min 13sec
  7. Fons de Wolf (Vermeer Thijs-Mimo Salons-Gios) s.t.
  8. Sean Kelly (Splendor-Wickes) s.t.
  9. Stefan Mutter (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
  10. Daniel Willems (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  11. Ferdi Van den Haute (La Redoute) @ 4min 0sec
  12. Willy Tierlinck (Boston-Mavic) s.t.
  13. Joseph Jacobs (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  14. Adrie Van der Poel (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) s.t.
  15. Herman van Springel (Safir-Ludo-Galli) s.t.
  16. Pierino Gavazzi (Magniflex-Olmo) s.t.
  17. Rudy Matthijs (Fangio-Sapeco-Mavic) s.t.
  18. Etienne de Wilde (Splendor-Wickes) s.t.
  19. Benny Schepmans (Safir-Ludo-Galli) s.t.
  20. Jan Bogaert (Vermeer Thijs-Mimo Salons-Gios) s.t.
  21. Ludo Delcroix (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  22. Etienne Van der Helst (Safir-Ludo-Galli) s.t.
  23. Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Safir-Ludo-Galli) s.t.
  24. Rudy Colman (Splendor-Wickes) s.t.
  25. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
  26. Godi Schmutz (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
  27. Patrick Perret (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
  28. Hubert Linard (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
  29. Jos Adri Schipper (HB Alarmsystemen) s.t.
  30. André Dierickx (Safir-Ludo-Galli) s.t.
  31. Guido Van Sweevelt (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  32. Francesco Moser (Famcucine-Campagnolo) s.t.
  33. Pol Verschuere (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  34. Marc Demeyer (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  35. Gregor Braun (Famcucine-Campagnolo) s.t.
  36. Giovanni Renosto (Magniflex-Olmo) s.t.
  37. Leo Van Thielen (Eurobouw-Rossin) s.t.
  38. Marcel Tinazzi (Sem-France Loire-Campagnolo) s.t.
  39. William Tackaert (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) s.t.
  40. Marc Renier (Masta-Peeters-BBS) s.t.
  41. Michel Demeyre (La Redoute) s.t.
  42. Willy De Geest (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) s.t.
  43. Daniel Muller (Sem-France Loire-Campagnolo) s.t.
  44. Ad Van Peer (HB Alarmsystemen) s.t.
  45. Marco Cattaneo (Famcucine-Campagnolo) s.t.