BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1965 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

49th edition: Sunday, April 17, 1965

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1966 edition | 1964 edition

235 km. 127 starters, 35 classified finishers

Ascents: Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg, Valkenberg, Kasteelstraat, Semmerzake

Complete results:

  1. Jo De Roo (Televizier) 5hr 47min 29sec. 40.58 km/hr
  2. Edward Sels (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  3. Georges van Coningsloo (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) @ 33sec
  4. Willy Wannitsen (Ford France-Giane-Dunlop) s.t.
  5. Jean Stablinski (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Rik van Looy (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  7. Carmine Preziosi (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) @ 58sec
  8. Gustave Desmet (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  9. Arthur de Cabooter (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  10. Victor van Schil (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  11. Cees Van Espen (Televizier) s.t.
  12. Norbert Kerckhove (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  13. Josef Planckaert (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  14. Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune)s.t.
  15. Ludo Janssens (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  16. Frans Aerenhouts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) @ 1min 7sec
  17. Edgar Sorgeloos (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  18. Josef Huysmans (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  19. Robert Lelangue (Cynar) s.t.
  20. Joseph Groussard (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  21. Guido Reybrouck (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  22. Gilbert Desmet (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  23. Vincent Denson (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  24. Jean-Baptiste Claes (Flandira-Romeo) s.t.
  25. Michel van Aerde (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  26. René van Meenen (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  27. Michael Wright (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  28. Clément Roman (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  29. Jan Nolmans (Flandira-Romeo) s.t.
  30. Noël Foré (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  31. Gerben Karstens (Televizier) s.t.
  32. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  33. Jean-Pierre Genêt (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  34. François Mahé (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  35. Arie Den Hartog (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.