BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Cycling's World Championships: The Inside Story Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1961 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

45th edition: Sunday, March 26, 1961

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1962 edition | 1960 edition

255 km. 146 starters, 53 classified finishers

Ascents: Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg, Valkenberg, Kasteelstraat, Groteberge

Tom Simpson in 1965

Tom Simpson racing in Italy in 1965

Complete results:

  1. Tom Simpson (Rapha-Gitane-Dunlop) 6hr 22min 0sec. 40.05 km/hr
  2. Nino Defilippis (Carpano) s.t.
  3. Jo De Haan (Rapha-Gitane-Dunlop) @ 11sec
  4. Emile Daems (Philco) @ 34sec
  5. Mies Stolker (Helyett-Fynsec-Hutchinson) @ 56sec
  6. Camille Le Menn (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) @ 59sec
  7. Jean Graczyk (Helyett-Fynsec-Hutchinson) @ 1min 0sec
  8. Arthur De Cabooter (Carpano) s.t.
  9. Martin Van Geneugden (Torpedo) s.t.
  10. Frans Schoubben (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  11. Henri de Wolf (Alcyon-Leroux) s.t.
  12. Jo De Roo (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  13. Noël Foré (Groene Leeuw-SAS-Sinalco) s.t.
  14. Gilbert Desmet s.t.
  15. Lode Troonbeeckx (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  16. Coen Niesten s.t.
  17. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  18. Yvo Molenaers (Carpano) s.t.
  19. Frans Aerenhouts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  20. Gustaaf van Vaerenbergh (Alcyon-Leroux) s.t.
  21. Josef Planckaert (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  22. Pierre Everaert (Rapha-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  23. Pino Cerami (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  24. François Mahé (Alcyon-Leroux) s.t.
  25. Armand Desmet @ 1min 10sec
  26. Norbert Kerkhove @ 4min 34sec
  27. Louis Proost s.t.
  28. Julien Schepens (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  29. André Noyelle (Helyett-Fynsec-Hutchinson) s.t.
  30. Willi Altig (Rapha-Gitane-Dunlop) @ 5min 1sec
  31. Raymond Impanis (Faema) s.t.
  32. Angelo Conterno (Baratti-Milano) s.t.
  33. Hilaire Couvreur (Carpano) s.t.
  34. Camiel Lamote s.t.
  35. Piet Rentmeester s.t.
  36. Joseph Verachtert (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  37. Lucien Demunster (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  38. Marcel Janssens (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  39. Eddy Pauwels (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  40. Maurice Meuleman (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  41. Alfons Sweeck (Groene Leeuw-SAS-Sinalco) @ 7min 41sec
  42. Clément Roman (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  43. Willy Truye (Wiel's-Flandria) s.t.
  44. Walter Martin (Carpano) s.t.
  45. Claude Valdois (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) @ 13min 0sec
  46. Ab Van Egmond (Liberia-Grammont-Wolber) s.t.
  47. Robert Cazala (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  48. Jan van Gompel s.t.
  49. Marcel Seynaeve (Groene Leeuw-SAS-Sinalco) s.t.
  50. Camiel Buysse (Wiel's-Flandria) ) s.t.
  51. Richard Everaerts (Baratti-Milano) s.t.
  52. Lucien Mathys (Groene Leeuw-SAS-Sinalco) s.t.
  53. Wout Wagtmans s.t.