BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1953 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

37th edition: Sunday, April 5, 1953

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1954 edition | 1952 edition

253 km. 172 starters, 44 classified finishers

Ascents: Kluisberg, Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg, Kloosterstraat

Wim van Est

Wim van Est

Complete results:

  1. Wim Van Est (Garin-Wolber): 7hr 19min 0sec. 34.58 km/hr
  2. Désiré Keteleer (Garin-Wolber) @ 2sec
  3. Bernard Gauthier (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 45sec
  4. Louison Bobet (Stella-Wolber-Dunlop) @ 1min 40sec
  5. Loretto Petrucci (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  6. Attilio Redolfi (Mercier-Leducq) @ 2min 10sec
  7. Jacques Dupont (Dilecta-Wolber-J.B. Louvet) @ 5min 48sec
  8. Hilaire Couvreur (Terrot-Hutchinson) @ 5min 50sec
  9. Stanislas Bober (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 5min 54sec
  10. Valère Ollivier (Bertin-d'Alessandro) @ 6min 10sec
  11. Roger Decock (Bertin-d'Alessandro) s.t.
  12. Jozef De Feyter s.t.
  13. Maurice Mollin (Libertas) s.t.
  14. Basiel Wambeke s.t.
  15. Briek Schotte (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  16. Maurice Bloome s.t.
  17. André Rosseel (Terrot-Hutchinson) s.t.
  18. Eugène Telotte (Mercier-F. Pélissier) s.t.
  19. Omer Braeckevelt (Terrot-Hutchinson) s.t.
  20. Léopold Schaeken s.t.
  21. Aloïs De Hartog (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  22. Alfred Tonello @ 8min 20sec
  23. Lucien Mathys (Groene Leeuw) @ 9min 12sec
  24. Julien Van Dycke (Bertin-d'Alessandro)s.t.
  25. Joseph Hendrickx @ 10min 10sec
  26. Germain Derycke (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  27. François Mahé (Dilecta-JB Louvet-Wolber) s.t.
  28. Maurice Diot (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 13min 0sec
  29. Marcel Ricjkaert (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  30. Florent Rondelé (Bertin-d'Alessandro) s.t.
  31. Aloïs Van Steenkiste (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  32. Arthur Cleenewerck (Bertin-d'Alessandro) @ 15min 0sec
  33. Joseph Plas (Garin-Wolber) s.t.
  34. Edward Peeters @ 18min 0sec
  35. Jean Pasinetti (Garin-Wolber) s.t.
  36. Antoine De Keyser s.t.
  37. Julien D'haene (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  38. Isidore De Ryck (Dilecta-JB Louvet-Wolber) s.t.
  39. Roger Gyselinck (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  40. Maurice Nyet s.t.
  41. Jan Adriaensens s.t.
  42. Gilbert Desmet 1 s.t.
  43. Camille Beeckman s.t.