BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1969 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

55th edition: Sunday, April 22, 1969

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1970 edition | 1968 edition |

127 starters, 30 classified finishers

Belgium, 253 km: 37.02 km/hr average speed

Eddy Merckx in the 1969 Giro d'Italia

Eddy Merckx riding stage 15 of the 1969 Giro d'Italia

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Faema) 6hr 50min 0sec
  2. Victor van Schil (Faema) s.t.
  3. Barry Hoban (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) @ 8min 5sec
  4. Eric Leman (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) s.t.
  5. Wim Schepers (Caballero) s.t.
  6. Roger Swerts (Faema) s.t.
  7. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) s.t.
  8. Frans Verbeeck (Geens-Diamant) s.t.
  9. Herman van Springel (Dr. Mann-Grundig) .t.
  10. Willy In't Ven (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  11. Arie den Hartog (Caballero) s.t.
  12. Flaviano Vicentini (Filotex) @ 9min 21sec
  13. Roger Cooreman (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  14. Franco Bitossi (Filotex) @ 9min 35sec
  15. Joseph Huysmans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  16. Peter Post (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
  17. Ronald de Witte (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  18. Walter Godefroot (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) s.t.
  19. Willy Bocklant (Pull Over Centrale-Tasmanie-Novy) s.t.
  20. Roberto Poggiali (Salvarani) s.t.
  21. Martin Van den Bossche (Faema) @ 9min 50sec
  22. Roger de Vlaeminck (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) @ 10min 0sec
  23. Eddy Beugels (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  24. Edward Janssens (Sonolor-lejeune) @ 16min 40sec
  25. Frans Mintjens (Faema) @ 20min 0sec
  26. Joseph Spruyt (Faema) s.t.
  27. Guy Vallee (Geens-Diamant) s.t.
  28. Marian Polansky (Geens-Diamant) s.t.
  29. Willy Van den Eynde (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) s.t.
  30. Joseph Henikenne (Etalo-Siriki-Ventura) @ 23min 0sec