BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1970 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

32nd edition, April 1, 1970

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1969 edition | 1971 edition

236 km / 40.709 km/hr
183 starters, 37 classified finishers

Eddy Merckx

Winner Eddy Merckx in the 1970 Giro d'Italia

Complete Results:

1 Eddy Merckx (Faemino-Faema) 5hr 47min 50sec
2 Willy Vekemans (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) @ 10sec
3 Walter Godefroot (Salvarani) s.t.
4 Roger Rosiers (Bic) s.t.
5 Patrick Sercu (Dreher) s.t.
6 Julien Stevens (Faemino-Faema) s.t.
7 Jan Janssen (Bic) s.t.
8 Jean-Pierre Monséré (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
9 Georges Claes (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
10 Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) @ 2sec
11 Joseph Huysmans (Faemino-Faema) s.t.
12 Roger De Vlaeminck (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
13 Eric Leman (Flandria-Mars) @ 45sec
14 Frans Kerremans (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) @ 6min 5sec
15 Bernard Vandekerkhove (Dreher) s.t.
16 Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
17 Davide Boifava (Molteni) s.t.
18 Edward Sels (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
19 Raymond Riotte (Sonolor-Lejeune) 16'25"
20 Jacques De Boever (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
21 Willy Moonen (Goldor-Frijns) 17'05"
22 Alphonse Scheys (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
23 Barry Hoban (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
24 Ronny Van De Vijver (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
25 Gilbert Wuytack (Willem II-Gazelle) 17'30"
26 Edward Janssens (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
27 Mogens Frey Jensen (Frimatic-De Gribaldy) 17'40"
28 Arthur Van De Vijver (Faemino-Faema) s.t.
29 Joseph Schoeters (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) 17'55"
30 Noël Van Clooster (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
31 Noël Vantyghem (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
32 Eddy Goossens (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
33 Gösta Pettersson (Ferretti) s.t.
34 Frans Toortelboom (Siriki - Munck) s.t.
35 Charly Grosskost (Bic) s.t.
36 Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
37 Eric Raes (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.