BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1971 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

33rd edition, March 31, 1971

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1970 edition | 1972 edition

237 km / 44.576 km/hr
145 starters, 96 classified finishers

Georges Pintens

Winner Georges Pintens

Complete Results:

1 Georges Pintens (Hertekamp-Magniflex) 5hr 19min
2 Roger De Vlaeminck (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
3 Gerben Karstens (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
4 Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
5 Daniel Van Rijckeghem (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
6 Frans Kerremans (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
7 Cyrille Guimard (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
8 Marino Basso (Molteni) s.t.
9 Jan Janssen (Bic) s.t.
10 Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
11 Harry Steevens (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
12 Noël Van Clooster (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
13 Guido Reybrouck (Salvarani) s.t.
14 Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
15 Georges Vandenberghe (Salvarani) s.t.
16 Joseph Abelshausen (Watney-Avia) s.t.
17 Jan Krekels (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
18 Gérard Vianen (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
19 André Poppe (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
20 Frans Melkenbeek (Goldor) s.t.
21 Marinus Wagtmans (Molteni) s.t.
22 Cees Rentmeester (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
23 Frans Mintjens (Molteni) s.t.
24 Evert Dolman (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
25 Jan Van Katwijk (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
26 Willy De Geest (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
27 Frans Maes (Goldor) s.t.
28 Raymond Riotte (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
29 Dino Zandegu (Salvarani) s.t.
30 René Pijnen (Bic) s.t.
31 Alain Santy (Bic) s.t.
32 Ronny Van De Vijver (Goldor) s.t.
33 Jacques Pommier (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
34 Gilbert Wuytack (Goldor) s.t.
35 Wim Schepers (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
36 Joseph Spruyt (Molteni) s.t.
37 Pol Mahieu (Watney-Avia) s.t.
38 Ole Ritter (Dreher) s.t.
39 Joseph Bruyère (Molteni) s.t.
40 Adriano Passuello (Dreher) s.t.
41 Christian Callens (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
42 Antoine Houbrechts (Salvarani) s.t.
43 Eric De Vlaeminck (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
44 Walter Godefroot (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
45 Willy Monty (Watney-Avia) s.t.
46 Yves Hézard (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
47 Edy Schütz (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
48 Tino Tabak (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
49 Ferdinand Bracke (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
50 Jean-marie Leblanc (Bic) s.t.
51 Joop Zoetemelk (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
52 Eddy Reyniers (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
53 Jacques De Boever (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
54 Christian Raymond (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
55 Herman Van Springel (Molteni) s.t.
56 Willy In't Ven (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
57 Roger Swerts (Molteni) s.t.
58 Romano Tumellero (Molteni) s.t.
59 Jürgen Tschan (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
60 Jos  De Schoenmaecker (Molteni) s.t.
61 Joseph Schoeters (Goldor) s.t.
62 Ronald De Witte (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
63 Joseph Huysmans (Molteni) s.t.
64 Roger Rosiers (Bic) s.t.
65 Eddy Peelman (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 2min 30sec
66 Jean-pierre Berckmans (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
67 Michel Coulon (Watney-Avia) s.t.
68 Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
69 Robert Mintkiewicz (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
70 Willy Scheers (Goldor) s.t.
71 Roger Desmarets (Bic) s.t.
72 William (Billy) Bilsland (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
73 Daan Holst (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
74 Jean-Pierre Genêt (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
75 Roger Pingeon (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
76 Wim Prinsen (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
77 Roger Loysch (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
78 Englebert Opdebeeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
79 Emile Bodart (Watney-Avia) s.t.
80 Jos Van Beers (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
81 Derek Harrison (TI-Carlton) s.t.
82 Pierfranco Vianelli (Dreher) s.t.
83 Sylvain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
84 Walter Ricci (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
85 Roger Cooreman (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
86 Pietro Guerra (Salvarani) s.t.
87 Michael Wright (Bic) s.t.
88 Ercole Gualazzini (Salvarani) s.t.
89 Jean Ronsmans (Bic) @ 5min 5sec
90 Willy Vekemans (Hertekamp-Magniflex) s.t.
91 Jan Serpenti (Gazelle) s.t.
92 Henk Benjamins (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
93 Willy Teirlinck (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
94 Herman Van Der Slagmolen (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
95 Walter Planckaert (Goldor) s.t.
96 Flory Ongenae (TI-Carlton) s.t.