BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1968 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

30th edition, April 16, 1968

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1967 edition | 1969 edition

250 km / 42.171 km/hr
151 starters, 103 classified finishers

Walter Godefroot

Winner Walter Godefroot

Complete Results:

1 Walter Godefroot (Flandria-de Clerck) 5hr 50min
2 Willy Van Neste (Bic) s.t.
3 Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) s.t.
4 André Planckaert (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
5 Bernard Vandekerkhove (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
6 Roger Cooreman (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
7 Herman Van Springel ((Mann-Grundig) @ 32sec
8 Rik Van Looy (Willem II-Gazelle) @ 40sec
9 Eddy Merckx (Faema) s.t.
10 Jacques De Boever (Smiths) s.t.
11 Peter Post (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
12 Valère Van Sweevelt (Smiths) s.t.
13 Eric De Vlaeminck (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
14 Ludo Vandromme (Flandria-de Clerck) s.t.
15 Daniel Van Ryckeghem (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
16 Joseph Huysmans (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
17 Victor Van Schil (Faema) s.t.
18 Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
19 Edward Sels (Bic) s.t.
20 Jan Van Der Horst (Caballero) @ 1min 3sec
21 Walter Boucquet (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
22 Roger Swerts (Faema) s.t.
23 Georges Vandenberghe (Smiths) s.t.
24 Michel Jacquemin (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
25 Joseph Spruyt (Faema) s.t.
26 Arie Den Hartog (Bic) s.t.
27 Jean Monteyne (Flandria-de Clerck) s.t.
28 Georges Pintens (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
29 Edouard Weckx (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
30 Lino Carletto (Salvarani) s.t.
31 Willy Donie (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
32 Gilbert Wuytack (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
33 Frans Melkenbeek (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
34 Wim Schepers (Caballero) 2'05"
35 Wilfried Peffgen (Salvarani) s.t.
36 Winfried Bölke  (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
37 Julien Verstrepen (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
38 Jan Harings (Caballero) s.t.
39 Roger Verheyden (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
40 Julien Stevens (Smiths) s.t.
41 René Corthout (Smiths) s.t.
42 Dino Zandegu (Salvarani) s.t.
43 Gérard Vianen (Caballero) s.t.
44 Roland Van De Rijse (Smiths) s.t.
45 Bernard Guyot (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
46 Pasquale De Luca (Okay-Diamant) s.t.
47 Jacques Guiot (Bic) s.t.
48 Leopold Van Den Neste (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
49 Etienne Buysse (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
50 Claude Guyot (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
51 Fernand Hermie (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
52 Louis Pfenninger (Zimba-Mondia) s.t.
53 Jos Boons (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
54 Julien Delocht (Faema) s.t.
55 Guido Reybrouck (Faema) s.t.
56 Antoine Houbrechts (Flandria-de Clerck) s.t.
57 Albert Van Vlierberghe (Smiths) s.t.
58 Roberto Poggiali (Salvarani) s.t.
59 Jacques Anquetil (Bic) s.t.
60 Dieter Puschel (Batavus-Continental) s.t.
61 Willy In't Ven (Mann-Grundig) s.t.
62 Jules Van Der Flaas (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
63 Noël Van Clooster (Flandria-de Clerck) s.t.
64 Cees Zoontjens (Caballero) s.t.
65 Jo De Roo (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
66 Tommaso De Pra (Salvarani) s.t.
67 Georges Vanconingsloo (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
68 Raymond Steegmans (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
69 Pietro Partesotti (Salvarani) s.t.
70 Guy Vallee (Okay-Diamant) s.t.
71 Willy Derboven (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
72 Henk Nijdam (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
73 Roger Kindt (Smiths) s.t.
74 Leo Van Dam (Okay-Diamant) s.t.
75 Henk Peters (Caballero) s.t.
76 Jan Cools (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
77 Romain Furniere (Flandria-de Clerck) s.t.
78 André Hendryckx (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
79 Willy Planckaert (Smiths) s.t.
80 Noël Fore (Flandria-de Clerck) s.t.
81 Willy Bocklant (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
82 Rik Wouters (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
83 Robert Legein (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
84 Johnny Schleck (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
85 Lionel Van Damme (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
86 Eric Leman (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
87 René Chtiej (Pelforth-Sauvage) s.t.
88 Roger Pingeon (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
89 Lucien Aimar (Bic) s.t.
90 Pietro Guerra (Salvarani) s.t.
91 Michael Wright (Bic) s.t.
92 Gilbert Desmet II (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
93 Edouard Ernst (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
94 Jose Serste (Okay-Diamant) s.t.
95 Willy Vekemans (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
96 John Schepers (Caballero) s.t.
97 Peter Abt (Zimba-Mondia) s.t.
98 Gilbert Notaerts (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
99 Klemens Grossimlinghaus (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
100 Willy Spühler (Zimba-Mondia) s.t.
101 Piet De Wit (Caballero) s.t.
102 Herman Flabat (Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
103 Evert Dolman (Smiths) s.t.