BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1967 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

29th edition, March 29, 1967

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1966 edition | 1968 edition

242 km / 39.35 km/hr
162 starters, 59 classified finishers

Eddy Merckx

Winner Eddy Merckx racing in 1968

Complete Results:

1 Eddy Merckx (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) 6hr 9min
2 Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
3 Edward Sels (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
4 Joseph Huysmans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
5 Herman Van Springel (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
6 Noël Fore (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
7 Willy Planckaert (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
8 Jacques De Boever (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
9 Frans Melkenbeek (Groene Leeuw-Pull Over Centrale) @ 4sec
10 Arthur Decabooter (Groene Leeuw-Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
11 Gustaaf De Smet (Groene Leeuw-Pull Over Centrale) @ 5sec
12 Georges Vandenberghe (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
13 André Planckaert (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
14 Bernard Vandekerkhove (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
15 Ludo Vandromme (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
16 Jo De Roo (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
17 Henk Nijdam (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
18 Lucien Aimar (Bic) s.t.
19 Noël Van Clooster (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
20 Joseph Spruyt (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
21 Barry Hoban (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
22 Victor Nuelant (Groene Leeuw-Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
23 Daniel Van Ryckeghem (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
24 Jacques Guiot (Bic) s.t.
25 Jean-Baptiste Claes (Torpedo) s.t.
26 Gilbert Desmet (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
27 Tom Simpson (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
28 Carmine Preziosi (Molteni) s.t.
29 Guido Reybrouck (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
30 Jérôme Kegels (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
31 Michael Wright (Groene Leeuw-Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
32 Julien Delocht (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
33 Gerben Karstens (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
34 Rik Van Looy (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
35 Roger Swerts (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
36 Dino Zandegu (Salvarani) s.t.
37 Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
38 Willy Bocklant (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
39 Jos Van Der Vleuten (Televizier-Batavus) @ 1min 1sec
40 Raymond Steegmans (Bic) 2'45"
41 Jan Lauwers (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
42 Willy Derboven (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
43 René Van Meenen (Goldor-Gerka) s.t.
44 Gérard Vianen (Caballero) s.t.
45 Bernard Guyot (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
46 Lionel Van Damme (Groene Leeuw-Pull Over Centrale) s.t.
47 Peter Glemser (Torpedo) s.t.
48 Cees Haast (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
49 Albert Van Vlierberghe (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
50 Georges Vanconingsloo (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
51 Jan Nolmans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
52 Vincent Denson (Bic) s.t.
53 Hubertus Zilverberg (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
54 Walter Godefroot (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
55 Victor Van Schil (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.
56 Bruno Janssens (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
57 Roberto Poggiali (Italy) s.t.
58 Walter Boucquet (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
59 Emile Coppens (Flandria-De Clerck) s.t.