BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour of Britain (HC)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Tour of Britain is a week-long professional stage race held in mid-September. It is the modern successor to British stage races dating back to the end of the Second World War, notably the Victory Cycling Marathon (1945), Brighton-Glasgow (1946 - 1950, '52), Tour of Britain (1951, '52, '53, '54, '55), the Milk Race (1958-1992), The Kellog's Tour of Britain (1987 - 1994) and the Pru Tour (1988-1999).

Sponsorship difficulties, exacerbated by a couple of tragic accidents ended the running of a British national tour in 1999.

The current Tour of Britain started in 2004 and with its current 2.1 UCI ranking, it attracts a decent field of professional racers despite its usual conflict with the Vuelta a España.

For 2014, The Tour of Britain was promoted to HC status.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1951 Ian Steel
63hr 9min 53sec
Alex Taylor Ian Greenfield 1,403 22.223
2004 Mauricio Ardila
18hr 58min 36sec
Julian Dean
@ 12sec
Nick Nuyens
@ 17sec
803.5 km 42.341
2005 Nick Nuyens
19hr 4min 32sec
Michael Blaudzun
@ 8sec
Javier Cherro Molina
@ 22sec
768 km 42.261
2006 Martin Pedersen
21hr 51min 24sec
Luis Passamontes
@ 51sec
Filippo Pozzato
@ 2min 11sec
870.5 km 39.828
2007 Romain Feillu
21hr 21min 33sec
Adrian Palomares
@ s.t.
Luke Roberts
@ 6sec
926.2 km 43.363
2008 Geoffroy Lequatre
27hr 21min 49sec
Steve Cummings
@ 5sec
Ian Stannard
@ 14sec
1,159.5 km 42.373
2009 Edvald Boasson Hagen
28hr 6min 24sec
Chris Sutton
@ 23sec 
Martin Reimer
@ 25sec
1,197.6 km 42.623
2010 Michael Albasini
29hr 23min 47sec
Borut Bozic
@ 1min 5sec
Greg Henderson
@ 1min 10sec
1,228.4 km 41.774
2011 Lars Boom
26hr 57min 35sec
Stephen Cummings
@ 36sec
Jan Barta
@ 55sec
1,110.0 km 41.173
2012 Jonathan Tiernan-Locke
33hr 11min 22sec
Nathan Haas
@ 18sec
Damiano Caruso
@ 23sec
1,349.9 km 40.67
2013 Bradley Wiggins
29hr 45min 22sec
Martin Elmiger
@ 26sec
Simon Yates
@ 1min 3sec
1,188.4 km 39.94
2014 Dylan van Baarle
32hr 22min 50sec
Michal Kwiatkowski
@ 10sec
Bradley Wiggins
@ 22sec
1,376.7 km 42.52
2015 Edvald Boasson Hagen
34hr 52min 52sec
Wouter Poels
@ 13sec
Owain Doull
@ 42sec
1,443.3 km 41.378
2016 Steve Cummings
31hr 30min 45sec
Rohan Dennis
@ 26sec
Tom Dumoulin
@ 38sec
1,296.4 km 41.139 km/hr
2017 Lars Boom
30hr 56min 24sec
Edvald Boasson Hagen
@ 8sec
Stefan Küng
@ 10sec
1,309.8 km 42.331 km/hr
2018 Julian Alaphilippe
26hr 25min 58sec
Wout Poels
@ 17sec
Primoz Roglic
@ 33sec
1,135.3 km 42.942 km/hr
2019 Mathieu van der Poel
29hr 47min 41sec
Matteo Trentin
@ 17sec
Jasper De Buyst
@ 50sec
1,267 km 42.524 km/hr