BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2023 Giro della Toscana - Memorial Alfredo Martini (1.1), Italy

95th edition: September 13, 2023

Giro della Toscana podium history | 2022 edition

Pontedera - Pontedera, 191.55 km

Pavel Sivakov finsihes 4 seconds ahead of second-place Richard Carapaz. Photo: Sprint Cycling

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Weather at the start/finish city of Pontedera at 1:30 PM, local time: 27C (80F), fair, with the wind from the west at 5 km/hr (3 mph). No rain is forecast.

Content continues below the ads

Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Les Woodland's book Cycling's 50 Triumphs and Tragedies: The rise and fall of bicycle racing's champions is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The Race: Here's the report from winner Pavel Sivakov's Team INEOS Grenadiers.

Pavel Sivakov took a stunning solo victory in the Giro della Toscana, the first of the Italian autumn classics.

An upping of the pace into the foot of the final climb saw the peloton whittle down almost immediately. Then, an attack from Felix Großschartner (UAE Team Emirates) was convincingly countered by Sivakov, drawing an elite group of four clear.

Pavel would not stop there, with another attack dropping the rest of the quartet, including Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates). The Frenchman would top the climb with an advantage on the rest, and start the descent alone.

Sivakov would be caught by Richard Carapaz (EF Education-EasyPost) on the descent, and the two seem destined to sprint it out at the finish.

That was until a canny attack by Pavel over a bridge with just over a kilometre remaining would see him distance his breakaway companion, and solo to an emphatic victory.

Ethan Hayter also claimed a strong seventh place, after a strong lead out by Magnus Sheffield.

Pavel Sivakov has left everyone behind to win the Giro della Toscana

“I’ve been looking for a win for a long time. Last year I won Burgos but I didn’t raise the hands as it was on GC. I’m really happy to win now."

“In the climb I was the strongest. I was the first over the top. When I was with Richie I knew he was faster than me in the downhill, so chances were that he would come back. Also with two, it was a long valley, so it was better to be with him. Then I could feel I was stronger in the final. I attacked on the last bridge as I knew he was faster in the sprint. I gave it my all and it worked so I’m super happy.”

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Complete results:

191.55 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.215 km/hr

1 Pavel Sivakov INEOS Grenadiers 4hr 25min 57sec
2 Richard Carapaz EF Education-EasyPost @ 4sec
3 Felix Grossschartner UAE Team Emirates 0:45
4 Tadej Pogacar UAE Team Emirates 1:28
5 Filippo Zana Jayco-AlUla s.t.
6 Davide Formolo UAE Team Emirates 1:33
7 Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers 1:58
8 Vincenzo Albanese EOLO-Kometa s.t.
9 Gianluca Brambilla Q36.5 Pro Cycling s.t.
10 Georg Zimmermann Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
11 Lilian Calmejane Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
12 Michael Valgren EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
13 Valerio Conti Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
14 Andrii Ponomar Corratec-Selle Italia s.t.
15 Guillaume Martin Cofidis s.t.
16 Alex Molenaar Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
17 Gotzon Martín Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
18 Alessandro Pinarello Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
19 Jonathan Lastra Cofidis s.t.
20 Harold Tejada Astana Qazaqstan s.t.
21 Mathieu Burgaudeau TotalEnergies s.t.
22 Alex Martin EOLO-Kometa s.t.
23 Jesus David Peña Jayco-AlUla s.t.
24 Luca Covili Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
25 Alexy Faure-Prost Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
26 Davide Piganzoli EOLO-Kometa s.t.
27 Alex Tolio Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
28 Andrea Innocenti Team Technipes-EmiliaRomagna s.t.
29 George Bennett UAE Team Emirates s.t.
30 Brandon Rivera INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
31 Lorenzo Fortunato EOLO-Kometa s.t.
32 Magnus Sheffield INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
33 Giacomo Garavaglia Work Service-Vitalcare-Dynatek 5:29
34 Roberto Gonzalez MG.K vis Colors for Peace VPM s.t.
35 Simon Geschke Cofidis s.t.
36 Marcel Camprubí Q36.5 Pro Cycling s.t.
37 Stefan De Bod EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
38 Luca Cavallo Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
39 Henok Mulubrhan Green Project-Bardiani-CSF s.t.
40 Alejandro Osorio GW-Shimano-Sidermec 5:33
41 Alessandro Monaco Team Technipes-EmiliaRomagna 6:41
42 Matteo Badilatti Q36.5 Pro Cycling 8:38
43 Alejandro Ropero Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
44 Pavel Novak Q36.5 Pro Cycling s.t.
45 Jose Luis Faura Electro Hiper Europa s.t.
46 Martin Nessler Team Technipes-EmiliaRomagna s.t.
47 Santiago Umba GW-Shimano-Sidermec s.t.
48 Valentin Ferron TotalEnergies s.t.
49 Kevin Colleoni Jayco-AlUla s.t.
50 Xabier Berasategi Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
51 Louis Meintjes Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
52 Francesco Busatto Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
53 Alexander Cepeda EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
54 Alexey Lutsenko Astana Qazaqstan s.t.
55 Hugo Toumire Cofidis 11:23
56 Tsgabu Grmay Jayco-AlUla s.t.
57 Fernando Tercero EOLO-Kometa s.t.
58 Axel Mariault Cofidis s.t.