BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2022 Giro della Toscana - Memorial Alfredo Martini (1.1), Italy

94th edition: September 14, 2022

Giro della Toscana podium history | 2021 edition | 2023 edition

Pontedera - Pontedera, 199.16 km

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!


Marc Hirschi wins the 94th Giro della Toscana. Sirotti photo

Content continues below the ads

Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Les Woodland's book The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories: A Five Ring Circus is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the start/finish city of Pontedera at 1:30 PM, local time: 28C (82F), partly cloudy, with the wind from the south at 14 km/hr (9 mph). There is a 4% chance of rain.

The Race: Here's the report from winner Marc Hirschi's UAE Team Emirates: 

Marc Hirschi rode a clever race to beat his breakaway companions to take a win upon return to racing in Italy.

The Swiss rider escaped in an elite move of four riders on the final decisive climb of the race which came just inside the last 40km to the line. The four were chasing lone leader Dani Martinez (Ineos-Grenadiers) who went clear over the last climb though with cooperation in the group behind would see the gap grow to no more than 30’’ on the chasers.

There was a game of cat and mouse in the finale as the breakaway looked at each other though Hirschi would prove the quickest as he made his move to outpace Diego Rota (Wanty-Intermarche) and Martinez who rounded out the podium behind.

Hirschi: “ It was a beautiful race and the perfect way to comeback to racing. In the climb I suffered a lot and couldn’t follow Martinez but we knew that in the last 20km we could work together and claw him back so we did that. I had good legs for the sprint and knew I could be the fastest so to cross the line first was a huge satisfaction. I’m looking forward to the next few days racing here in Italy.”

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Complete results:

199.16 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.714 km/hr

1 Marc Hirschi UAE Team Emirates 4hr 53min 30sec
2 Lorenzo Rota Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
3 Daniel Martinez INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
4 Einer Rubio Movistar s.t.
5 Esteban Chaves EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
6 Alex Aranburu Movistar @ 13sec
7 Andreas Kron Lotto Soudal s.t.
8 Paul Double MG.K vis-Colors for Peace-VPM s.t.
9 Guillaume Martin Cofidis s.t.
10 Andrii Ponomar Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
11 Gorka Izagirre Movistar 0:17
12 Natnael Tesfazion Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli 0:23
13 Filippo Zana Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
14 Odd Christian Eiking EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
15 Barnabas Peak Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
16 Laurens Huys Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
17 Samuele Battistella Astana Qazaqstan 0:35
18 Antonio Pedrero Movistar 1:25
19 Alex Martin Gutierrez EOLO-Kometa 1:47
20 Mason Hollyman Israel-Premier Tech 3:33
21 Giacomo Garavaglia Work Service-Vitalcare-Dynatek 3:35
22 Vegard Stake Laengen UAE Team Emirates s.t.
23 Sean Quinn EF Education-EasyPost s.t.
24 Brandon Rivera INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
25 Alejandro Ropero EOLO-Kometa s.t.
26 Mattia Bais Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
27 Luca Covili Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
28 Eduardo Sepulveda Drone Hopper-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
29 Jorge Arcas Movistar s.t.
30 Edoardo Faresin Zalf Euromobil Fior 3:38
31 Victor De La Parte TotalEnergies 6:22
32 Kasper Andersen UAE Team Emirates s.t.
33 Alan Jousseaume TotalEnergies s.t.
34 Javier Romo Astana Qazaqstan 6:51
35 Thomas Pesenti Beltrami TSA Tre Colli s.t.
36 Matteo Jorgenson Movistar s.t.
37 Alexis Vuillermoz TotalEnergies 8:15
38 Kobe Goossens Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.