BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Strade Bianche-Eroica Toscana (1.1), Italy

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Montepaschi Strade Bianche (white roads) is a relatively new race that grew up out of an enthusiast ride that went over the white, unpaved roads in the Chianti area of Tuscany.

The desire by the promoter RCS Sport, which also organizes the Giro d'Italia, was to create a professional race with a distinctive and heroic character that will eventually take its place alongside the other springtime classics. The first edition was run in October of 2007. It is currently held in early March. In 2009 roughly a third of the route was on unpaved roads in 8 separate sectors, the longest of which was 13.5 kilometers. 190 km long, The race finishes in Siena's famous Piazza del Campo.

The race's original name was "Montepaschi Eroica", but it was later changed to "Strade Bianche"

We have complete results for every edition posted. Just click on the year.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

2007 Alexandre Kolobnev
4hr 42min 10sec
Marcus Lungqvist
@ 3sec
Mikhaylo Khalilov
@ 39sec
180 km 38.275
2008 Fabian Cancellara
4hr 34min 41sec
Alessandro Ballan
@ s.t.
Linus Gerdemann
@ 15sec
181 km 39.536
2009 Thomas Lövkvist
4hr 59min 2sec
Fabian Wegmann
@ 4sec
Martin Elmiger
@ 6sec
190 km 38.122
2010 Maxim Iglinskiy
4hr 49min 48sec
Thomas Lövkvist
@ 1sec
Michael Rogers
@ s.t.
190 km 38.100
2011 Philippe Gilbert
4hr 44min 26sec
Alessandro Ballan
@ s.t.
Damiano Cunego
@ s.t.
190 km 40.079
2012 Fabian Cancellara
4hr 44min 59sec
Maxim Iglinskiy
@ 42sec
Oscar Gatto
@ s.t.
190 km 40.002
2013 Moreno Moser
5hr 1min 53sec
Peter Sagan
@ 6sec
Rinaldo Nocentini
@ 7sec
188 km 37.365
2014 Michal Kwiatkowski
5hr 20min 33sec
Peter Sagan
@ 19sec
Alejandro Valverde
@ 36sec
197 km 37.435
2015 Zdenek Stybar
5hr 22min 13sec
Greg Van Avermaet
@ sec
Alejandro Valverde
@ 18sec
200 km 37.272
2016 Fabian Cancellara
4hr 39min 35sec
Zdenek Stybar
@ s.t.
Gianluca Brambilla
@ 4sec
176 km 37.770
2017 Michal Kwiatkowski
4hr 42min 42sec
Greg van Avermaet
@ 15sec
Tim Wellens
@ 17sec
175 km 37.141 km/hr
2018 Tiesj Benoot
5hr 3min 33sec
Romain Bardet
@ 39sec
Wout van Aert
@ 58sec
184 km 36.370 km/hr
2019 Julian Alaphilippe
4hr 47min 14sec
Jakob Fuglsang
@ 2sec
Wout van Aert
@ 27sec
184 km 38.435 km/hr
2020 Wout van Aert
4hr 58min 56sec
Davide Formolo
@ 30sec
Max Schachmann
@ 32sec
184 km 36.931 km/hr
2021 Mathieu van der Poel
4hr 40min 29sec
Julian Alaphilippe
@ 5sec
Egan Bernal
@ 20sec
184 km 39.36 km/hr