BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Gran Premio di Lugano (1.1), Switzerland

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Gran Premio di Lugano is a Swiss bicycle race that used to be held in late February or early March and was one of the first races of the European season. In 2017 it was moved to late Spring.

Generally, the race's terrain isn't terribly challenging, but because of the riders' varying early season fitness, it still generally ends up being somewhat selective.

The race was first run in 1981, but as an individual time trial. In 2000 it became a 1.4 UCI ranked road race. In 2005 it's rating was raised to 1.1.

The 2013 edition was cancelled because of snow, always a hazard for early season competitions.

The race currently (2015) starts and ends on the shore of Lake Lugano.

Recent podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1995 Stefano Colagè Fabrizio Bontempi Giuseppe Guerini    
1996 Amilcare Tronca Armin Meier Andrea Stocco    
1997 Michele Rezzani        
1998 Luca Bianucci        
No race held
2001 Luca Paolini
4hr 24min 21sec
Beat Zberg
@ s.t.
Bobby Julich
@ s.t.
169.9 km 38.494
2002 Ruslan Ivanov
4hr 23min 29sec
Davide Rebellin s.t. Niki Aebersold
169.6 km 38.621
2003 David Moncoutie
4hr 25min 23sec
Alexandr Kolobnev
@ 33sec
Ruslan Gryshenko
@ 34sec
169.5 km 38.345
2004 Frédéric Bessy
4hr 22min 40sec
David Moncoutie
@ s.t.
Vladimir Miholjevic
@ s.t.
160 km 36.55
2005 Rik Verbrugghe
4hr 14min 19sec
Patrice Halgand
@ s.t.
Emanuele Sella
@ 14sec
156.6 km 39.946
2006 Paolo Bettini
4hr 21min 0sec
Kim Kirchen
@ 52sec
Alexander Kuschinsky
@ s.t.
174.3 km 40.069
2007 Luca Mazzanti
4hr 18min 45sec
Pedro Arreitunandia
@ s.t.
Evgueni Petrov
@ s.t.
172 km 39.884
2008 Rinaldo Nocentini
4hr 28min 43sec
Davide Rebellin
@ 1sec
Enrico Gasparotto 178.5 km 39.856
2009 Remi Pauriol
@ 4hr 34min 46sec
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
Simon Gerrans
@ 3sec
178.5 km 39.98
2010 Roberto Ferrari
3hr 40min 19sec
Jure Kocjan
@ s.t.
Giampaolo Cheula
@ s.t.
2011 Ivan Basso
4hr 23min 4sec
Fabio Andres Duarte
@ s.t.
Giovanni Visconti
@ 16sec
178.5 km 40.712 
2012 Eros Capecchi
4hr 31min 2sec
Damiano Cunego
@ 4sec

Enrico Battaglin
@ s.t.
178.5 km 39.514
2013 Race cancelled because of snow      
2014 Mauro Finetto
4hr 12min 14sec
Sonny Colbrelli
@ s.t.
Diego Ulissi
@ s.t.
169.4 km 40.296
2015 Niccolo Bonifazio
4hr 38min 8sec
Francesco Gavazzi
@ s.t.
Matteo Montaguti
@ s.t.
194.9 km 39.887
2016 Sonny Colbrelli
5hr 2min 7sec
Diego Ulissi
@ s.t.
Roberto Ferrari
@ s.t.
184.9 km 36.721 km/hr
2017 Iuri Filosi
5hr 4min 13sec
Marco Frapporti
@ s.t.
Davide Orrico
@ 17sec
185.6 km 36.605 km/hr
2018 Hermann Pernsteiner
4hr 53min 5sec
Kristian Sbaragli
@ 32sec
Enrico Gasparotto
@ 1min 33sec
185.6 km 37.996 km/hr
2019 Diego Ulissi
4hr 43min 36sec
Alexandr Riabushenko
@ s.t.
Matej Mohoric
@ s.t.
179.2 km 37.913 km/hr
2020 Race cancelled because of Covid-19 pandemic
2021 Gianni Moscon
4hr 53min 0sec
Valerio Conti
@ 20sec
Ben Hermans
@ s.t.
184 km 37.679 km/hr