BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2019 GP di Lugano (HC) Switzerland

73rd Edition: Sunday, June 9, 2019

GP di Lugano podium history | 2018 edition | 2021 edition (2020 race cancelled because of Covid-19) | Course map

Sunday, June 9, 2019: Lugano - Lugano (8 laps of 22.4 km) : 179.2 km

Diego Ulissi and teammate Aleksandr Riabushenko make it 1-2 at Lugano. That's Matej Morohic coming in third.

Weather at Lugano at 1:30 PM, local time: 23C (73F), mostly cloudy, with the wind from the south-southwest at 8 km/hr (5 mph). 40% chance of rain this afternoon.

The race: Here's the report from winner Diego Ulissi's UAE-Team Emirates.

Sticky Buns Across America

It was all smiles for UAE Team Emirates at the GP Lugano, as the riders took on 179.2 km on a course featuring two short climbs before the finish by the lake in Lugano.

The decisive move was made on the penultimate lap of 8 and featured all the main hitters: Diego Ulissi and Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) attacked on the climb of Agra, later being joined by their teammates Aleksandr Riabushenko, Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) as well as Giovanni Carboni (Bardiani-Csf) and Patrick Schelling (Team Vorarlbeg).

The group started the last lap with a twenty-eight second gap on the peloton as Ulissi and Nibali moved away on the climb of Agra. They would eventually regroup before teamwork between Riabushenko and Ulissi ensured a winning performance.

“Finally I managed to win the GP Lugano, after so many attempts. I live in Lugano, so this has become my home race. This victory is particularly sweet – Ulissi explained – Our team was perfect , first in controlling the break of six guys who led the race in the initial laps, then to move with precision in the decisive moments. Riabushenko was fantastic in supporting me in the final, this one-two is a really great moment for our team.

"I’m glad that I made the most of my good condition: I finished the Giro in good shape and I was able to race at my best “.

The winning day for UAE Team Emirates was completed by Tadej Pogačar‘s 7th place and Fabio Aru‘s 12th place. The Sardinian climber returns after a long lay-off since surgery to his iliac artery and has already shown promise, even trying a few uphill attacks in the closing laps. Aru was pleased with his ride : “I am very happy both for the results achieved by the team, and for my own performance.”

With numerous riders in the race coming out of the Giro d’Italia, the pace was high, but I felt at ease and I paced myself well. Now I will go back and see with the team which will be the next race, but the feelings are good “.

Complete Results:

179.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 37.913 km/hr

1 ULISSI Diego UAE-Team Emirates 4hr 43min 36sec
2 RIABUSHENKO Alexandr UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
3 MOHORIC Matej Bahrain-Merida s.t.
4 SCHELLING Patrick Vorarlberg-Santic s.t.
5 NIBALI Vincenzo Bahrain-Merida @ 7sec
6 CARBONI Giovanni Bardiani-CSF 0:41
7 POGACAR Tadej UAE-Team Emirates 0:42
8 VELASCO Simone Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
9 SBARAGLI Kristian Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
10 TIZZA Marco Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
11 RUEGG Lukas Swiss Racing Academy s.t.
12 RAVANELLI Simone Biesse-Carrera s.t.
13 THALMANN Roland Vorarlberg-Santic s.t.
14 ROTA Lorenzo Bardiani-CSF s.t.
15 FICARA Pierpaolo Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
16 COLLEONI Kevin Biesse-Carrera s.t.
17 CHAVES Esteban Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
18 ROVNY Ivan Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
19 PELLAUD Simon IAM-Excelsior 0:47
20 CANOLA Marco Nippo-Vini Fantini 0:51
21 VISCONTI Giovanni Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia 0:57
22 ARU Fabio UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
23 TONIATTI Andrea Team Colpack s.t.
24 NIBALI Antonio Bahrain-Merida 1:35
25 COVI Alessandro Team Colpack 2:08
26 JENSEN August Israel Cycling Academy 6:11
27 ALBASINI Michael Mitchelton-Scott 6:25
28 GAROSIO Andrea Bahrain-Merida 6:33
29 BAUER Jack Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
30 SCHMID Mauro Swiss Racing Academy s.t.
31 ARSLANOV Ildar Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
32 FORTUNATO Lorenzo Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
33 LOBATO Juan José Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
34 MARENGO Umberto Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
35 CELANO Danilo Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
36 DOUBLE Paul Team Colpack 6:47
37 PAROZ Justin Akros-Thömus 8:32
38 DEBONS Antoine IAM-Excelsior s.t.
39 COLOMBO Raul Biesse-Carrera 8:40
40 ZANDOMENEGHI Simone Iseo Serrature-Rime 9:08
41 LUKSEVICS Viesturs Amore & Vita-Prodir s.t.
42 SENNI Manuel Bardiani-CSF s.t.
43 CONCA Filippo Biesse-Carrera s.t.
44 NIV Guy Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
45 PICCOT Michel Biesse-Carrera s.t.
46 COVILI Luca Bardiani-CSF s.t.
47 RYBALKIN Aleksey Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
48 NEKRASOV Denis Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
49 BALDACCINI Davide Team Colpack s.t.
50 BOTTA Davide Team Colpack s.t.
51 CATAFORD Alexander Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
52 BADILATTI Matteo Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
53 GARAVAGLIA Giacomo Team Colpack 9:16
54 BONGIORNO Francesco Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia 9:37
55 GONZALEZ Roberto Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia 11:38

Course map:

GP Lugano map

GP Lugano map. 8 laps of 22.4 kilometers