BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2009 Gran Premio Città di Peccioli -
Coppa Sabatini (1.1), Italy

57th edition: October 8, 2009

Coppa Sabatini podium history | 2008 edition | 2010 edition

Peccioli - Peccioli, 199 km

Coppa Sabatini

Philippe Gilbert wins ahead of Giovanni Visconti. Sirotti photo

The race: Early in the race a group of twenty-five riders broke away. The peloton chased hard, and at one point closed to within a half-minute, but the final distance could not be closed.

Of the original twenty-five escapees, only Barloworld's Giampaolo Cheula didn't make it to the end.

Come the sprint, World Champion Cadel Evans worked over the break with repeated attacks, setting things up for his teammate Philippe Gilbert to win his fourth race of the season.

Complete Results:

112 riders signed up, 111 starters, 24 classified finishers.

Winner's average speed: 43.003 km/hr

1 Philippe Gilbert  Silence-Lotto 4hr 37min 39sec
2 Giovanni Visconti  Silence-Cycling s.t.
3 Leonardo Bertagnolli  Serramenti PVC-Andorni Giocattoli s.t.
4 Davide Malacarne  Quick Step-Innergetic s.t.
5 Miguel Angel Rubiano  Centri Della Calzatura s.t.
6 Domenico Pozzovivo  CSF Group s.t.
7 Marcello Pavarin  CSF Group s.t.
8 Alessandro Bertolini  Serramenti PVC-Andorni Giocattoli s.t.
9 Luca Mazzanti  Katusha s.t.
10 Luca Solari  Serramenti PVC-Andorni Giocattoli s.t.
11 Cristiano Salerno  LPR-Farnese Vini @ 8sec
12 Alan Marangoni  CSF Group s.t.
13 Cadel Evans  Silence-Cycling s.t.
14 Juan Mauricio Soler  Barloworld-Bianchi s.t.
15 Vladimir Duma  Ceramica Flaminia 11"
16 Emanuele Sella  Carmiooro & A-Style s.t.
17 Nikita Eskov  Katusha 17"
18 Riccardo Chiarini  LPR-Farnese Vini 21"
19 Diego Caccia  Barloworld-Bianchi 27"
20 Enrico Rossi  Ceramica Flaminia 31"
21 Daryl Impey  Barloworld-Bianchi 37"
22 Ruslan Pidgornyy  ISD Cycling 54"
23 Matteo Montaguti  LPR-Farnese Vini 1'27"
24 Bartosz Huzarski  ISD Cycling 1'54"