BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2008 Gran Premio Città di Peccioli -
Coppa Sabatini (1.1), Italy

56th edition: October 9, 2008

Coppa Sabatini podium history | 2007 edition | 2009 edition

Peccioli - Peccioli, 199 km

Mikhaylo Khalilov

Mikhaylo Khalilov gets a clean win. Sirotti photo

The race: Mikhaylo Khalilov won his third late 2008 season race in Peccioli.

In the race's final lap, Acqua & Sapone's Francesco Failli tried to perform a disappearing act, but Ceramica Flaminia's Mikhaylo Khalilov was having none of that.

Khalilov dashed up the final hill to the finish to win the race with Liquigas' Filippo Pozzato closing in on him. But he came up just a bit short.

Complete Results:

146 starters, 99 classified finishers.

Winner's average speed: 40.269 km/hr

1 Mikhaylo Khalilov  Ceramica Flaminia 4hr 56min 30sec
2 Filippo Pozzato  Liquigas @ 1sec
3 Stefano Garzelli  Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo s.t.
4 Mauro Finetto  CSF-Group Navigare s.t.
5 Alexandr Kolobnev  CSC s.t.
6 Luca Mazzanti  Tinkoff s.t.
7 Fabian Wegmann  Gerolsteiner s.t.
8 Francesco Failli  Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo s.t.
9 Daniele Pietropolli  Team LPR s.t.
10 Paul Martens  Rabobank s.t.
11 Christian Pfannberger  Barloworld s.t.
12 Andrea Masciarelli  Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo s.t.
13 Christopher Horner  Astana s.t.
14 Luca Solari  Serramenti PVC-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
15 Serguei Klimov  Tinkoff s.t.
16 Chris Anker Sörensen  CSC s.t.
17 Evgeni Petrov  Tinkoff s.t.
18 Janez Brajkovic  Astana s.t.
19 Rinaldo Nocentini  Ag2r La Mondiale 15"
20 Federico Canuti  CSF-Group Navigare s.t.
21 Donato Cannone  NGC Medical 33"
22 Manuele Mori  Scott s.t.
23 Pavel Brutt  Tinkoff s.t.
24 Michele Scarponi  Serramenti PVC-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
25 Josep Jufre  Scott s.t.
26 Roman Kireyev  Astana s.t.
27 Marco Pinotti  Team Columbia s.t.
28 Mariusz Wiesiak  Nippo-Endeka s.t.
29 Bruno Rizzi  NGC Medical s.t.
30 Jürgen Van Goolen  CSC s.t.
31 Yaroslav Popovych  Silence-Lotto s.t.
32 Pieter Weening  Rabobank s.t.
33 Gustav Erik Larsson  CSC s.t.
34 Alexandr Pliuschin  Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
35 Giovanni Visconti  Quick Step 47"
36 Robert Gesink  Rabobank s.t.
37 Jakob Fuglsang  Disegna Kokken s.t.
38 Michael Barry  Team Columbia s.t.
39 Craig Lewis  Team Columbia s.t.
40 Rubens Bertogliati  Scott s.t.
41 Matej Mugerli  Liquigas 54"
42 Ermanno Capelli  Scott s.t.
43 Paolo Bailetti  LPR Brakes 58"
44 Volodymyr Gustov  CSC s.t.
45 Jean-Charles Sénac  Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
46 Hubert Krys  Ceramica Flaminia s.t.
47 Gabriele Missaglia  Serramenti PVC-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
48 Alessandro Proni  Quick Step s.t.
49 Massimiliano Maisto  NGC Medical s.t.
50 Cristiano Fumagalli  Ceramica Flaminia s.t.
51 Damiano Margutti  s.t.
52 Grischa Niermann  Rabobank 1'11"
53 Morris Possoni  Team Columbia s.t.
54 Philip Deignan  Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
55 Matteo Tosatto  Quick Step 1'19"
56 Matthew Lloyd  Silence-Lotto 1'21"
57 Oliver Zaugg  Gerolsteiner s.t.
58 Giampaolo Caruso  Ceramica Flaminia 1'27"
59 Enrico Gasparotto  Barloworld s.t.
60 Daniele Bennati  Liquigas s.t.
61 Alexander Serov  Tinkoff s.t.
62 Cadel Evans  Silence-Lotto 1'37"
63 Leonardo Giordani  Ceramica Flaminia s.t.
64 Julien Loubet  Ag2r La Mondiale 1'46"
65 Mikhail Ignatiev  Tinkoff 1'51"
66 Patrick Calcagni  Barloworld 1'56"
67 Roger Beuchat  Serramenti PVC-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
68 Giampaolo Cheula  Barloworld s.t.
69 Massimo Codol  Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo s.t.
70 Andrea Tonti  Quick Step 2'05"
71 Kjell Carlström  Liquigas 2'08"
72 Nikita Eskov  Tinkoff s.t.
73 Giairo Ermeti  LPR Brakes s.t.
74 Sergio Lagana  LPR Brakes 2'19"
75 Riccardo Chiarini  LPR Brakes s.t.
76 Alessandro Vanotti  Liquigas 2'33"
77 Michael Rogers  Team Columbia 2'38"
78 Johannes Fröhlinger  Gerolsteiner 2'42"
79 Steven Cummings  Barloworld 2'50"
80 Bauke Mollema  Rabobank 5'59"
81 Roberto Traficante  Serramenti PVC-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
82 Laurent Didier  Team Kuota s.t.
83 Mauro Facci  Quick Step s.t.
84 Nazareno Rossi  Serramenti PVC-Androni Giocattoli s.t.
85 Stefan Koychev Hristov  Nippo-Endeka s.t.
86 Dario David Cioni  Silence-Lotto s.t.
87 Luigi Sestili  Ceramica Flaminia s.t.
88 Marc De Maar  Rabobank s.t.
89 Vladimir Duma  Ceramica Flaminia s.t.
90 Christophe Brandt  Silence-Lotto s.t.
91 Scott Davis  Team Columbia s.t.
92 Mauro Da Dalto  Liquigas s.t.
93 Francesco Tizza  NGC Medical s.t.
94 Diego Caccia  Barloworld s.t.
95 Vincenzo Garofolo  Nippo-Endeka s.t.
96 Vincenzo Nibali  Liquigas s.t.
97 Marco Corsini  NGC Medical s.t.
98 Andrey Zeits  Astana s.t.
99 Devis Miorin  Nippo-Endeka s.t.