BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Coppa Bernocchi (1.1), Italy

100th edition: Sunday, September 16, 2018

Coppa Bernocchi podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition

Legnano - Legnano: 194.7 km. Legnano is 20 kilometers northwest of Milan.

Sonny Colbrelli

Sonny Colbrelli gets a clear win. Bettini photo

The race: Here's the report from winner Sonny Colbrelli's Bahrain-Merida team.

Legnano (Italy), September 16th – With an impressive sprint Sonny Colbrelli wins the Coppa Bernocchi again, after the triumph he took last year, always with Bahrain-Merida Pro Cycling Team jersey.

A special victory seen that it was the 100th edition of this classical Italian race, part of the Trittico Lombardo series, with start and finish in Legnano, north of Milan. A race that suits to sprinters and Sonny Colbrelli was among the favourites. “I never could have won without the help of my teammates” comments the Italian rider “They have been fantastic. I had just to raise my arms to celebrate. Grega Bole and Giovanni Visconti lead me out perfectly. Wang did a good job too, working at the front of the peloton in the finale to bridge the gap to the four attackers. Happily we succeeded to catch them and I could sprint very well. I want to dedicate this win to my family, especially to Adelina that soon will give birth to our baby girl”.

Bahrain-Merida Pro Cycling Team – directed by Sports Director Alberto Volpi – did indeed a very good job today. They controlled the race when there were the early breakaway and following attempts of attack, both during the challenging 6 laps of the Valle Olona circuit (16.7 km with the GPM of Morazzone) and in the final city circuit to be repeated three times. “We faced the race with personality yesterday too, but we had less luck than today. Instead today we had good legs and luck as well” explains Volpi “The team worked very well, especially in the final circuit. Then with a guy like Sonny, a sprint win comes easily. I said to the boys this morning at the team meeting, that I wanted a squad with grinta and so it was”.

Complete Results:

194.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.419 km/hr

1 COLBRELLI Sonny Bahrain-Merida 4hr 29min 3sec
2 BELLETTI Manuel Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
3 SIMION Paolo Bardiani-CSF s.t.
4 LOBATO Juan José Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
5 BASSO Leonardo Sky s.t.
6 FRAPPORTI Marco Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
7 TROIA Oliviero UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
8 PORSEV Alexander Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
9 ALBANESE Vincenzo Bardiani-CSF s.t.
10 KOCH Jonas CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
11 CANOLA Marco Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
12 VENTURINI Clément Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
13 VELASCO Simone Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
14 MODOLO Sacha Italy s.t.
15 TULIK Angelo Direct Energie s.t.
16 LIENHARD Fabian Team Switzerland s.t.
17 SBARAGLI Kristian Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
18 STALLAERT Joeri Vorarlberg-Santic s.t.
19 HALVORSEN Kristoffer Sky s.t.
20 MÄDER Gino Team Switzerland s.t.
21 COVI Alessandro UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
22 MOZZATO Luca Dimension Data s.t.
23 RUEGG Lukas Vorarlberg-Santic s.t.
24 PONZI Simone Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
25 SOBRERO Matteo Dimension Data s.t.
26 FRAPPORTI Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
27 BONNAMOUR Franck Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
28 OLDANI Stefano Polartec-Kometa s.t.
29 TOTÒ Paolo Sangemini-MG.K Vis s.t.
30 SERRANO Gonzalo Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
31 MORTIER Julien WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
32 SALVADOR Enrico Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
33 TIVANI German UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
34 IRISARRI Jon Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
35 MADRAZO Ángel Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
36 FEDELI Alessandro Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
37 STACCHIOTTI Riccardo MsTina-Focus s.t.
38 BOLE Grega Bahrain-Merida s.t.
39 MOLLY Kenny WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
40 VDOVIN Alexander Lokosphinx s.t.
41 ZARDINI Edoardo Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
42 FERRARI Fabricio Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
43 SOKOLOV Dmitry Lokosphinx s.t.
44 GAMPER Patrick Polartec-Kometa s.t.
45 BOEV Igor Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
46 HAYTER Ethan Sky 0:07
47 DÍAZ José Manuel Israel Cycling Academy 0:08
48 MÜLLER Patrick Team Switzerland 0:09
49 PEYSKENS Dimitri WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
50 MONTAGUTI Matteo Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
51 ANTUNES Amaro CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
52 TUREK Daniel Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
53 CIEŚLIK Paweł CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
54 COLOMBO Raul Biesse Carrera Gavardo 0:12
55 WARNIER Antoine WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic 0:14
56 CAPECCHI Eros Italy s.t.
57 FRANKINY Kilian Team Switzerland s.t.
58 DE BOD Stefan Dimension Data s.t.
59 CARBONI Giovanni Bardiani-CSF s.t.
60 SCHELLING Patrick Vorarlberg-Santic 0:17
61 VISCONTI Giovanni Bahrain-Merida s.t.
62 OURSELIN Paul Direct Energie s.t.
63 BANZER Gordian Team Switzerland s.t.
64 CHAMPOUSSIN Clément Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
65 GRELLIER Fabien Direct Energie 0:20
66 FEILLU Brice Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
67 PALUTA Michał CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:21
68 NOVIKOV Savva Lokosphinx 0:23
69 MOSCON Gianni Sky s.t.
70 SCHÖNBERGER Sebastian Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia 0:26
71 GAZZARA Michele Sangemini-MG.K Vis s.t.
72 DI SANTE Antonio Sangemini-MG.K Vis 0:27
73 CELANO Danilo Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
74 CHOKRI El Mehdi Dimension Data s.t.
75 FERNÁNDEZ Delio Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
76 KOZONTCHUK Dmitry Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
77 GOŁAŚ Michał Sky s.t.
78 MAIKIN Roman Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
79 TONELLI Alessandro Bardiani-CSF s.t.
80 BARBIN Enrico Bardiani-CSF s.t.
81 AMICI Alberto Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
82 CHEVRIER Clément Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
83 CARUSO Damiano Italy s.t.
84 FABBRO Matteo Italy s.t.
85 BONO Matteo UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
86 BROŻYNA Piotr CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
87 WELDU Hafetab Dimension Data s.t.
88 GANNA Filippo UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
89 LIETAER Eliot WB-Aqua Protect-Veranclassic s.t.
90 BOUET Maxime Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
91 ĐURASEK Kristijan UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
92 HIRSCHI Marc Team Switzerland s.t.
93 SEVILLA Diego Polartec-Kometa s.t.
94 DOMONT Axel Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
95 TAARAMÄE Rein Direct Energie s.t.
96 GAVAZZI Francesco Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
97 MORENO Javier Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
98 DONOVAN Mark Sky s.t.
99 TIZZA Marco Nippo-Vini Fantini 0:32
100 SICARD Romain Direct Energie s.t.
101 ORRICO Davide Vorarlberg-Santic 0:34
102 COSNEFROY Benoît Ag2r La Mondiale 0:36
103 BARDET Romain Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
104 PÉRICHON Pierre-Luc Fortuneo-Samsic 0:44
105 BALLERINI Davide Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 0:46
106 COLLEONI Kevin Biesse Carrera Gavardo s.t.
107 GESBERT Élie Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
108 NIV Guy Israel Cycling Academy 0:50
109 SANTAROMITA Ivan Nippo-Vini Fantini 0:52
110 VENDRAME Andrea Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 1:02
111 CATTANEO Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 1:03
112 GAFFURINI Nicola Sangemini-MG.K Vis s.t.
113 LAGUTIN Sergey Gazprom-RusVelo 1:10
114 MAŁECKI Kamil CCC Sprandi Polkowice 1:24
115 WANG Meiyin Bahrain-Merida 1:28
116 DUNBAR Eddie Sky s.t.
117 CALMEJANE Lilian Direct Energie s.t.
118 ROTA Lorenzo Bardiani-CSF s.t.
119 FILOSI Iuri Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.