BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2019 Coppa Bernocchi (1.1), Italy

101st edition: Sunday, September 15, 2019

Coppa Bernocchi podium history | 2018 edition | 2020 Grande Trittico Lombardo | 2021 edition

Legnano - Legnano: 194.7 km. Legnano is 20 kilometers northwest of Milan.

Phil Bauhaus

Phil Bauhaus sprint to victory in Legnano. Bettini photo

Weather at the start/finish city of Legnano at 1:55 PM, local time: 27C (80F), partly cloudy, with the wind from the southwest at 8 km/hr (5 mph). No rain is forecast.

The race: Here's the report from winner Phil Bauhaus' UAE-Team Emirates.

Legnano (Italy), September 15th – For the third year in a row the ‘Coppa Bernocchi’ goes to Team Bahrain Merida. After Sonny Colbrelli won it in 2017 and 2018, this time it was Phil Bauhaus to cross the finish line in Legnano (North Milan) with his arms raised.

“I’m super happy. Marcel Sieberg and Jan Tratnik did a very good job in the final and my legs were super good to finish it off” the German sprinter says after his first official win with TBM jersey “I had the pleasure to celebrate another success, at Adriatica Ionica Race, but it was on a not official criterium. Therefore, after several top five places that I took in this season, I was missing the victory until today and now I’m really proud to have taken it. I’m also proud to win this race, that my team won with Colbrelli in the past two editions. So, I can only wish to the team to win it for the fourth time next year”.

Traditionally the ‘Bernocchi’ suits pure sprinters, but with the circuit of the Valle Olona including the ‘Piccolo Stelvio’ ascent and the KOM of ‘Morazzone’ to repeat 6 times, it’s usually a challenging one anyway. “As it was in this edition too” Team Bahrain Merida Sports Director Alberto Volpi explains “After the breakaway of the day was caught with about 44km to go, there was another attack of 8 men including the European Champion Elia Viviani, one of the favourite today. Our guys contributed to work to chase them. We’re very satisfied with their performance today. It was not easy also due to the high temperatures and when it comes to the sprint you can never know. Thanks to a very good job from Sieberg and Tratnik, Bauhaus could take this nice one”.

Phil Bauhaus claimed the win ahead of Simone Consonni (UAE) 2nd and Damiano Cima (Nippo) 3rd.

Complete Results:

194.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.570 km/hr

1 Phil Bauhaus Bahrain-Merida 4hr 34min 25sec
2 Simone Consonni UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
3 Imerio Cima Nippo-Vini Fantini @1sec
4 Alexander Konychev Dimension Data s.t.
5 Damiano Cima Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
6 Alberto Dainese Italy s.t.
7 Yevgeniy Gidich Astana s.t.
8 Edwin Ávila Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
9 Riccardo Stacchiotti Giotti Victoria s.t.
10 Umberto Marengo Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
11 Luca Pacioni Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia +2''
12 Romain Le Roux Arkea-Samsic s.t.
13 Giovanni Lonardi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
14 Raul Colombo Biesse-Carrera s.t.
15 Luca Mozzato Dimension Data +4''
16 Romain Combaud Delko-Marseille Provence +5''
17 Marco Frapporti Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +6''
18 Nicola Venchiarutti Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
19 Davide Gabburo Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
20 Antonio Di Sante Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.K Vis s.t.
21 Filippo Baroncini Beltrami TSA-Hoppla +7''
22 El Mehdi Chokri Dimension Data s.t.
23 Nicolò Parisini Beltrami TSA-Hoppla s.t.
24 Roberto Ferrari UAE-Team Emirates +8''
25 Odd Christian Eiking Wanty-Gobert s.t.
26 Florian Vachon Arkea-Samsic +9''
27 Garikoitz Bravo Euskadi Basque Country-Murias s.t.
28 Federico Zurlo Giotti Victoria s.t.
29 Lorenzo Fortunato Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
30 Alexis Guérin Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
31 Daniil Fominykh Astana s.t.
32 Andrea Pasqualon Wanty-Gobert +10''
33 Marcel Sieberg Bahrain-Merida s.t.
34 Davide Rebellin Meridiana-Kamen Team +11''
35 Vladislav Kulikov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
36 Dario Puccioni Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.K Vis +12''
37 Simone Petilli UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
38 Natnael Tesfatsion Dimension Data s.t.
39 Javier Moreno Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
40 Simone Velasco Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
41 Nelson Soto Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
42 Fabio Mazzucco Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.K Vis s.t.
43 Roberto González Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
44 Aliaksandr Riabushenko UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
45 Urko Berrade Euskadi Basque Country-Murias +13''
46 Alessandro Fedeli Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
47 Pierre Rolland Vital Concept-B&B Hotels s.t.
48 Antonio Puppio Italy s.t.
49 Igor Boev Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
50 Sergio Rodrígue Euskadi Basque Country-Murias +14''
51 Jon Irisarri Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
52 Vadim Pronskiy Astana s.t.
53 Emanuele Onesti Giotti Victoria s.t.
54 Aurélien Doleatto Arkea-Samsic +15''
55 Masahiro Ishigami Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
56 Giovanni Carboni Bardiani-CSF s.t.
57 Vincenzo Albanese Bardiani-CSF s.t.
58 Daniel Savini Bardiani-CSF s.t.
59 Bryan Coquard Vital Concept-B&B Hotels s.t.
60 Niccolò Salvietti Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.K Vis +16''
61 Andrea Vendrame Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
62 Umberto Orsini Bardiani-CSF s.t.
63 Juan Antonio López-Cózar Euskadi Basque Country-Murias +17''
64 Evgeniy Shalunov Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
65 Andrea Garosio Bahrain-Merida s.t.
66 Matteo Rabottini Meridiana-Kamen Team s.t.
67 Bart De Clercq Wanty-Gobert s.t.
68 Freddy Ovett Israel Cycling Academy +18''
69 Bert De Backer Vital Concept-B&B Hotels s.t.
70 Ivan Martinelli D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
71 Filippo Ganna Italy s.t.
72 Giovanni Visconti Neri Sottoli-Selle Italia s.t.
73 Matteo Sobrero Dimension Data +19''
74 Simone Ravanelli Biesse-Carrera s.t.
75 Riccardo Minali Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
76 Andrea Bagioli Team Colpack s.t.
77 Warren Barguil Arkea-Samsic s.t.
78 Jérémy Maison Arkea-Samsic +20''
79 Iuri Filosi Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
80 Rubén Plaza Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
81 Giulio Ciccone Italy s.t.
82 Alessandro Covi Team Colpack s.t.
83 Daniel Turek Israel Cycling Academy +22''
84 Alberto Amici Biesse-Carrera s.t.
85 Mattia Bais Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
86 Yuriy Natarov Astana +24''
87 Luca Colnaghi Team Colpack s.t.
88 Enrico Barbin Bardiani-CSF s.t.
89 Gregorio Ferri Italy +25''
90 Manuele Mori UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
91 Ivan Santaromita Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
92 Davide Baldaccini Team Colpack +27''
93 Alessandro Bisolti Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
94 Jan Tratnik Bahrain-Merida s.t.
95 Aimé De Gendt Wanty-Gobert +42''
96 Marco Canola Nippo-Vini Fantini +47''
97 Dmitriy Gruzdev Astana +57''
98 Niccolò Bonifazio Total Direct Energie +1' 00''
99 Leonardo Bonifazio Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.K Vis +1' 02''
100 Alexey Lutsenko Astana +1' 04''
101 Nikita Stalnov Astana +1' 10''
102 Davide Martinelli Italy +1' 12''
103 Antonio Nibali Bahrain-Merida +1' 54''
104 Matteo Malucelli Caja Rural-Seguros RGA +1' 58''
105 Paul Ourselin Total Direct Energie +2' 30''
106 Jérôme Cousin Total Direct Energie s.t.
107 Nicola Graziato Sangemini-Trevigiani-MG.K Vis +3' 02''