BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1972 Paris - Roubaix

70th edition: Sunday, April 16, 1972

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1973 edition | 1971 edition

272.5 km. 160 starters, 49 classified finishers

Roger de Vlaeminck

Roger de Vlaeminck

The Race: Headwind, very cold rain; perfect flahute weather. Twenty-three kilometers from the finish Roger de Vlaeminck left the small group that was chasing Willy van Malderghem, who looked to be riding away with the race. De Vlaeminck caught and passed van Malderghem and won with a nearly two-minute gap.

Complete Results:

  1. Roger de Vlaeminck (Dreher) 7hr 24min 5sec. 36.817 km/hr
  2. André Dierickx (Flandria-Beaulieu) @ 1min 57sec
  3. Barry Hoban (Gan-Mercier) @ 2min 13sec
  4. Willy Teirlinck (Sonolor) @ 2min 34sec
  5. Willy van Malderghem (Watney-Avia) @ 2min 36sec
  6. Gustav van Roosbroeck (Watney-Avia) @ 2min 39sec
  7. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
  8. Eddy Peelman (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  9. Ole Ritter (Dreher) s.t.
  10. Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  11. Roger Rosiers (Bic) s.t.
  12. Roger Swerts (Molteni) s.t.
  13. Gerben Karstens (Rokado) s.t.
  14. Cyrille Guimard (Gan-Mercier) @ 4min 40sec
  15. Karl-Heinz Muddemann (Rokado) s.t.
  16. Wilfried Peffgen (Rokado) s.t.
  17. Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
  18. Enrico Paolini (SCIC) s.t.
  19. Herman van Springel (Molteni) s.t.
  20. Julien Stevens (Dreher) s.t.
  21. Julien van Lint (Dreher) s.t.
  22. Albert van Vlierberghe (Ferretti) s.t.
  23. Christian Callens (Novy-Dubble Bubble) @ 7min 31sec
  24. Adriano Passuello (Dreher) s.t.
  25. Christian Raymond (Peugeot) s.t.
  26. Daniel Verplancke (Flandria-Beaulieu) s.t.
  27. Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  28. Wim Schepers (Rokado) @ 7min 37sec
  29. Alfons Scheys (Goldor-Ijsboerke) @ 9min 10sec
  30. Lucien Aimar (Rokado) @ 9min 34sec
  31. Gérard Vianen (Goudsmit-Hoff) @ 11min 7sec
  32. Guido Reybroeck (Salvarani) s.t.
  33. Englebert Opdebeeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
  34. Marino Basso (Salvarani) s.t.
  35. Miguel-Maria Lasa (KAS) s.t.
  36. Georges Pintens (Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  37. Jozef Spruyt (Molteni) s.t.
  38. Jos Van der Vleuten (Goudsmit-Hoff) @ 11min 50sec
  39. Yves Hézard (Sonolor) s.t.
  40. Jean-Luc Molinéris (Sonolor) @ 19min 37sec
  41. Georges Chappe (Gitane) s.t.
  42. Raymond Riotte (Sonolor) @ 19min 56sec
  43. Robert Mintkiewicz (Sonolor) @ 20min 0sec
  44. Emile Bodart (Watney-Avia) s.t.
  45. Walter Plackaert (Watney-Avia) s.t.
  46. Alain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
  47. Leo Duyndam (Goudsmit-Hoff) @ 21min 32sec
  48. Ludo Van der Linden (Molteni) @ 22min 32sec
  49. Herman Van der Slagmolen (Flandria-Beaulieu) s.t.