BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1993 Professional Cycling World Road Championship

Oslo, Norway

60th edition: August 29, 1993

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1994 edition | 1992 edition |

257.6 km

Average speed of winning rider: 40.979 km/hr.

171 Riders Started. 66 classified finishers

Wet, cold rain the entire race. Started as drizzle, became heavier as the race progressed. Temperature in the low 60's (F).

Course: 14 laps of 18.4 km starting and finishing outside the city hall of Oslo. There were two climbs, the 4km Ryenberg, followed by the 2km Ekeberg, then 10km of downhill and flat.

The wet roads were very slippery, with many crashes, causing the riders to ride in a very cautious manner.

Lance Armstrong wins the 1993 World Road Cycling Championships

Lance Armstrong wins the 1993 World Road Cycling Championships.

Complete Results:

1 Lance Armstrong (USA) 6h 17m 10s
2 Miguel Indurain (Sp) @ 19 sec
3 Olaf Ludwig (Ger) Same time
4 Johan Museeuw (Bel) s.t.
5 Maurizio Fondriest (Ita) s.t.
6 Andrei Tchmil (Mol) s.t.
7 Dag-Otto Lauritzen (Nor) s.t.
8 Gerard Rue (Fra) s.t.
9 Bjarne Riis (Denmark) s.t.
10 Frans Maassen (NL) s.t.
11 Marco Giovenetti (Ita) s.t.
12 Claudio Chiappucci (Ita) @ 24 sec
13 Andreas Kappas (Ger) @ 1min 17sec
14 Adri Van der Poel (NL) s.t.
15 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) @ 1min 47sec
16 Viatscheslav Ekimov (Rus) s.t.
17 Felice Puttini (Switz) s.t.
18 Bo Hamburger (Denmark) s.t.
19 Harald Maier (Austria) s.t.
20 Richard Virenque (Fra) s.t.
21 Gert-Jan Theunisse (NL) s.t.
22 Piotr Ugramov (Lit) s.t.
23 Rolf Jarmann (Switz) s.t.
24 Pascal Richard (Switz) s.t.
25 Cezary Zamana (Pol) s.t.
26 Johnny Weltz (Denmark) s.t.
27  Jan Svorada (Slo) s.t.
28 Steve Larsen (USA) s.t.
29 Giancarlo Perini (Ita) s.t.
30 Gianni Faresin (Ita) s.t.
31 Massimo Podenzana (Ita) s.t.
32 Jorg Muller (Switz) s.t.
33 Stephen Hodge (Australia) s.t.
34 Jose Ramon Uriarte (Sp) s.t.
35 Rolf Sorensen (Denmark) s.t.
36 Peter Meinert (Denmark) s.t.
37 Fernando Escartin (Sp) s.t.
38 Massimo Ghirotto (Ita) s.t.
39 Jean-Francois Bernard (Fra) s.t.
40 Johan Bruyneel (Bel) s.t.
41 Javier Mauleon (Sp) s.t.
42 Jon Unzaga (Sp) s.t.
43 Federico Echave (Sp) s.t.
44 Bruno Cenghialta (Ita) s.t.
45 Bruno Cornillet (Fra) s.t.
46 Steven Rooks (NL) s.t.
47 Christian Henn (Ger) s.t.
48 Alberto Elli (Ita) s.t.
49 Sean Kelly (Irl) @ 5min 7 sec
50 Dimitri Konyshev (Rus) s.t.
51 Andre Namtvedt (Nor) @ 8 min 44 sec
52 Jacky Durand (Fra) @ 9min 38sec
53 Atle Pedersen (Nor) @ 13min 22sec
54 Mario Kummer (Ger) s.t.
55 Frankie Andreu (USA) s.t.
56 Andy Bishop (USA) s.t.
57 Fabio Rascioli (Ita) s.t.
58 John Van den Akker (Nor) s.t.
59 Beat Zberg (Switz) s.t.
60 Sean Way (UK) @ 18min 54sec  
61 Thomas Bay (Denamrk) s.t.
62 Dmiti Nelubin (Rus) s.t.
63 Roustam Toukhvatouline (Rus)   s.t.
64 Tony Doyle (UK) s.t.
65 John Tanner (UK) s.t.
66   Norman Alvis (USA) s.t.