BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1985 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

52nd edition: Sunday, September 1, 1985
Giavera Di Montello, Italy

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1986 edition | 1984 edition |

149 riders started, 66 classified finishers.
18 laps of 14.75 km, totaling 265.5 km. Winner's average speed: 41.20 km/hr

Joop Zoetemelk wins the 1985 World Championships

La Gazzetta dello Sport: Zoetemelk wins the 1985 World Road Championships

Complete Results:

  1. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) 6hr 26min 38sec
  2. Greg LeMond (USA) @ 3sec
  3. Moreno Argentin (Italy) s.t.
  4. Marc Madiot (France) s.t.
  5. Harald Maier (Austria) s.t.
  6. Juan Fernandez (Spain) s.t.
  7. Stephen Roche (Ireland) s.t.
  8. Jorg Muller (Switzerland) s.t.
  9. Johan Van der Velde (Netherlands) s.t.
  10. Robert Millar (Great Britain) s.t.
  11. Claudio Corti (Italy) s.t.
  12. Claude Criquielion (Belgium) s.t.
  13. Gérard Veldscholten (Netherlands) s.t.
  14. Kim Andersen (Denmark) @ 13sec
  15. Rolf Golz (Germany) @ 35sec
  16. Acacio Da Silva (Portugal) s.t.
  17. Francisco Rodriguez (Spain) s.t.
  18. José-Luis Navarro (Spain) s.t.
  19. Pierino Gavazzi (Italy) @ 1min 5sec
  20. Steve Bauer (Canada) s.t.
  21. Jurg Bruggmann (Switzerland) s.t.
  22. Ron Kiefel (USA) @ 1min 10sec
  23. Jorgen Marcussen (Denmark) s.t.
  24. Giuseppe Saronni (Italy) s.t.
  25. Pedro Delgado (Spain) s.t.
  26. Benno Wiss (Switzerland) s.t.
  27. Pedro Ruiz-Cabestany (Spain) s.t.
  28. Celestino Prieto (Italy) s.t.
  29. Charly Berard (France) s.t.
  30. Peter Besanko (Australia) s.t.
  31. Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Belgium) s.t.
  32. Alvaro Pino (Spain) s.t.
  33. Tommy Prim (Sweden) s.t.
  34. Frédéric Vichot (France) s.t.
  35. Sean Kelly (Ireland) s.t.
  36. Paul Haghedooren (Belgium) s.t.
  37. Federico Echave (Spain) s.t.
  38. Martin Ramirez (Spain) s.t.
  39. Dag-Otto Lauritzen (Norway) s.t.
  40. Erich Maechler (Switzerland) s.t.
  41. Heinz Imboden (Switzerland) s.t.
  42. Emanuele Bombini (Italy) s.t.
  43. Jesper Worre (Denmark) s.t.
  44. Urs Zimmermann (Switzerland) s.t.
  45. Teun van Vliet (Netherlands) s.t.
  46. Dominique Arnaud (France) s.t.
  47. Phil Anderson (Australia) s.t.
  48. Argemiro Bohorquez (Colombia) s.t.
  49. Michael-Steen Petersen (Denmark) s.t.
  50. Robert Forest (France) s.t.
  51. Robert Vagn Pedersen (Denmark) s.t.
  52. Charly Mottet (France) s.t.
  53. Niki Ruttimann (Switzerland) s.t.
  54. Francesco Moser (Italy) s.t.
  55. Jens Veggerby (Denmark) s.t.
  56. Henk Lubberding (Netherlands) s.t.
  57. Marino Lejarreta (Spain) s.t.
  58. Bruno Leali (Italy) s.t.
  59. Adri Van der Poel (Netherlands) s.t.
  60. Giambattista Baronchelli (Italy) @ 4min 7sec
  61. Erik McKenzie (New Zealand) s.t.
  62. Michael Wilson (Australia) s.t.
  63. Marino Amadori (Italy) s.t.
  64. Andrew Hampsten (USA) s.t.
  65. Martin Early (Ireland) s.t.
  66. Alan McCormack (Ireland) s.t.