BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1968 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

35th edition: Sunday, September 1, 1968
Imola, Italy

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1969 edition | 1967 edition |

Vittorio Adorni wins the 1968 world cycliong championships

Adorni wins alone at Imola.

The race: Four laps into the race an important break formed: Vittorio Adorni, Rik van Looy and Joaquim Agostinho. This was a powerful move and they built a large lead. If the trio came to the finish together van Looy, the only rider to win all of the classics, would be the prohibitive favorite.

With 90 kilometers to go Adorni, a gifted pursuiter and time trialist but famous for his weak sprint, took off alone. The Italian team with Michele Dancelli, Franco Bitossi, Vito Taccone and Felice Gimondi strangled the peloton's chase attempts. Eddy Merckx, grateful for Adorni's help in winning the Giro, also helped Adorni.

Adorni's winning gap of 9 minutes 50 seconds is the largest in the history of the world professional championship.

84 riders started, 19 classified finishers.
18 laps of 15.4 km totalling 277.3km.
Winner's average speed: 37.17 km/hr

Complete Results:

  1. Vittorio Adorni (Italy) 7hr 27min 39sec
  2. Herman van Springel (Belgium) @ 9min 50sec
  3. Michele Dancelli (Italy) @ 10min 18sec
  4. Franco Bitossi (Italy) s.t.
  5. Vito Taccone (Italy) s.t.
  6. Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
  7. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  8. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) s.t.
  9. Jean Jourden (France) s.t.
  10. Lucien Aimar (France) s.t.
  11. Jacques Anquetil (France) s.t.
  12. Rudi Altig (Germany) @ 11min 7sec
  13. Karl-Heinz Kunde (Germany) @ 12min 5sec
  14. Gianni Motta (Italy) @ 12min 7sec
  15. Rik van Looy (Belgium) s.t.
  16. Joaquim Agostinho (Portugal) @ 15min 25sec
  17. Johnny Schleck (Luxembourg) @ 18min 10sec
  18. Harry Steevens (Netherlands) @ 20min 0sec
  19. Louis Pfenninger (Switzerland) s.t.