BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Rund um Köln (1.1), Germany
Tour of Cologne

Recent Podium history

Tour of Flanders, the Inside Story

Les Woodland's book Tour of Flanders: The Inside Story - The rocky roads of the Ronde van Vlaanderen is available in print, Kindle eBook and audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race:

The Rund um Köln (English: Tour of Cologne), a single-day bicycle race, is one of cycling's oldest and the second-oldest bicycle race in Germany (the Rund um die Hainleite is slightly older). The first edition was held in 1908.

For much of its history (1908-1995) the Rund um Köln was solely an amateur race, with the exceptions of 1910 (separate races for amateurs and professionals) and 1911 and 1990 (just pros).

Cycling's doping scandals has engendered a strong antipathy towards professional cycling in the German media, causing several of the races sponsor's to back out in 2008 and creating severe difficulties for the organizers. The 2009 edition had the riders competing as national teams rather than their usual trade teams.

Over the years its standing on the race calender has been upgraded by the UCI and was ranked HC in 2007, but in 2009 it was reclassed as 1.1.

Historically the Rund um Köln has been held on Easter Monday, but starting in 2015 it will be run on the second Sunday in June.

And it changed again. In 2022 is was run in late May.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Recent podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1964 Horst Oldenburg Peter Post Klau May    
1965 Hans Preiskeit
6hr 20min
Manfred Donike Hans Junkermann 235 km 37.105
1966 Peter Glemser Jozef Huysmans Leo Hermens    
1967 Noël Fore Willy In't Ven Roger Blockx    
Race not held
1990 Noël Segers Andreas Kappes Herman Frison    
1991 Jerry Cooman Johan Capiot Mario De Clercq    
1992 Louis De Kooning Wilfried Peeters Olaf Jentsch    
1993 Willem Van Eynde Christian Henn Marcel Wust    
1994 Udo Bolts Rol Jaermann Jens Heppner    
1995 Eric Dekker Frans Massen Fausto Dotti    
1996 Erik Zabel Tom Steels Johna Capiot    
1997 Frank Vandenbroucke Artur Babaitsev Ludo Dierckxens    
1998 Race cancelled because of snow
1999 Jans Heppner Raymond Meijs Kai Hundertmark    
2000 Steffen Wesemann Hendrik Van Dyck Jens Heppner    
2001 Gianmatteo Fagnini Bert Grabsch Torsten Schmidt    
2002 Peter Wrolich Kai Hundertmark Christian Werner    
2003 Jan Ullrich Danilo Hondo Peter Wrolich    
2004 Erik Zabel Danilo Hondo Kirk O'Bee    
2005 David Kopp Stefan Schumacher David Canada    
2006 Christian Knees
4hr 52min 43sec
David Kopp
@ 5sec
Kai Reus
@ 8sec
202.8 km 41.569 km/hr
2007 Juan José Haedo
4hr 50min 9sec
Graeme Brown
@ s.t.
Alessandro Petacchi
@ s.t.
203.2 km 40.019 km/hr
2008 Race cancelled because of snow
2009 Martin Pedersen
5hr 0min 40sec
Eric Baumann
@ s.t.
Mathias Belka
@ s.t.
205.1 km 40.929


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!
2010 Juan José Haedo
4hr 56min 8sec
André Greipel
@ s.t.
Enrico Rossi
@ s.t.
197.9 km 40.097
2011 Michael Matthews
4hr 50min 50sec
Marcel Kittel
@ s.t.
Giacomo Nizzolo
@ s.t.
203.5 km 41.983
2012 Jan Barta
5hr 5min 58sec
Gediminas Bagdonas
@ 2min 2sec
Tomasz Marczynski
@ s.t.
196.7 km 38.574
2013 Sébastien Delfosse
4hr 41min 17sec
Pieter Jacobs
@ s.t.
Georg Preidler
@ s.t.
192.6 km 41.083
2014 Sam Bennett
4hr 39min 28sec
Barry Markus
@ s.t.
Gerald Ciolek
@ s.t.
192.6 km 41.350
2015 Tom Boonen
4hr 26min 9sec
Edward Theuns
@ s.t.
Andreas Schillinger
@ s.t.
196.0 km 44.34
2016 Dylan Groenewegen
4hr 42min 45sec
André Greipel
@ s.t.
Nikias Arndt
@ s.t.
205.8 km 43.67
2017 Gregor Mühlberger
4hr 51min 39sec
Mads Würtz Schmidt
@ 1sec
Fabian Lienhard
@ s.t.
206.3 km 42.441
2018 Sam Bennett
4hr 53min 17sec
Mihkel Raim
@ s.t.
Szymon Sajnok
@ s.t.
207.7 km 42.49
2019 Baptiste Planckaert
4hr 54min 59sec
Christoph Pfingsten
@ s.t.
Lionel Taminiaux
@ 1min 26sec
206.6 km 42.023
2020 Race cancelled
2021 Race cancelled
2022 Nils Politt
4hr 28min 21sec
Danny Van Poppel
@ 13sec
Nikias Arndt
@ 18sec
199.3 km 44.561
2023 Danny Van Poppel
4hr 24min 54sec
Milan Menten
@ s.t.
Jasper De Buyst
@ s.t.
201.1 km 45.549


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!