BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, vol.1 South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Roma Maxima (1.1), Italy

Formerly Giro del Lazio

2nd Edition: Sunday, March 9, 2014

Roma Maxima History | 2013 edition | Photos | Map and profile |

Roma - Roma, 195 km.

Alejandro Valverde wins 2014 Roma Maxima

Complete Results: 128 starters, 101 classified finishers

  1. Alejandro Valverde 4hr 45min 45sec. 40.944 km/hr
  2. Davide Appollonio (Ag2r) @ 1sec
  3. Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  4. Antonino Parrinello (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r) s.t.
  6. Alessandro Bazzana (United Healthcare) s.t.
  7. Jarlinson Pantano (Colombia) s.t.
  8. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) s.t.
  9. Simon Geschke (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  10. Mauro Finetto (Yellow Fluo) s.t.
  11. Angel Vicioso (Katusha) s.t.
  12. Filippo Pozzato (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  13. Reto Hollenstein (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  14. Christopher Sutton (Sky) s.t.
  15. Matthias Brandle (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  16. Daniele Ratto (Cannondale) s.t.
  17. Alexey Lutsenko (Astana) s.t.
  18. Enrico Battaglin (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  19. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Colombia) s.t.
  20. Yannick Eijssen (BMC) s.t.
  21. Georg Preidler (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  22. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) s.t.
  23. Jonathan Fumeaux (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  24. Dominik Nerz (BMC) s.t.
  25. Sergio Pardilla (MTN-Qhubeka) s.t.
  26. Patrick Schelling (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  27. Marcel Wyss (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  28. Julien Berard (Ag2r) s.t.
  29. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  30. Guillaume Bonnafond (Ag2r) s.t.
  31. Matteo Rabottini (Yello Fluo) s.t.
  32. Salvatore Puccio (Sky) s.t.
  33. Igor Anton (Movistar) s.t.
  34. Winner Anacona (Lampre-Merida) @ 6sec
  35. Sebastian Henao (Sky) s.t.
  36. Alexandr Kolobnev (Katusha) s.t.
  37. Cayetano Sarmiento (Cannondale) s.t.
  38. Franco Pellizotti (Andorni Giocattoli) s.t.
  39. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  40. Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  41. Tobias Ludvigsson (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  42. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) s.t.
  43. Edoardo Zardini (Bardinai-CSF) s.t.
  44. Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  45. Ivan Basso (Cannondale) s.t.
  46. Matteo Montaguti (Ag2r) @ 11sec
  47. Johann Tschopp (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  48. Warren Barguil (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  49. Ben Hermans (BMC) @ 13sec
  50. Samuel Sanchez (BMC) s.t.
  51. Francesco Bongiorno (Bardiani-CSF) @ 33sec
  52. Luca Paolini (Katusha) s.t.
  53. Rinaldo Nocentini (Ag2r) s.t.
  54. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) @ 46sec
  55. Joshua Edmondson (Sky) @ 50sec
  56. Darwin Atapuma (BMC) @ 1min 13sec
  57. Andriy Grivko (Astana) @ 1min 29sec
  58. Ben Gastauer (Ag2r) @ 6min 40sec
  59. Rafael Andriato (Yellow Fluo) @ 7min 50sec
  60. Marc Demaar (United Healthcare) s.t.
  61. Lawrence Warbasse (BMC) s.t.
  62. Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli) @ 9min 6sec
  63. Kristian Sbaragl (MTN-Qhubeka) s.t.
  64. Dennis van Niekerk (MTN-Qhubeka) s.t.
  65. Thomas Damuseau (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  66. Simone Ponzi (Yellow Fluo) s.t.
  67. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) s.t.
  68. Manuel Quinziato (BMC) s.t.
  69. Marcel Aregger (IAM Cycling) s.t.
  70. Benjamin Day (United Healthcare) s.t.
  71. Dmitriy Muravyev (Astana) s.t.
  72. Andrey Zeits (Astana) s.t.
  73. Maxim Iglinskiy (Astana) s.t.
  74. Fabio Taborre (Yellow Fluo) s.t.
  75. Francesco Failli (Yellow Fluo) s.t.
  76. Rudiger Selig (Katusha) s.t.
  77. Johannes Fröhlinger (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  78. Angelo Pagani (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  79. Daniel Teklehaimanot (MTN-Chubeka) s.t.
  80. Dario Cataldo (Sky) s.t.
  81. Paolo Longo Borghini (Cannondale) s.t.
  82. Nathan Earle (Sky) s.t.
  83. Ben Swift (Sky) s.t.
  84. Maxim Belkov (Katusha) s.t.
  85. Luca Dodi (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  86. Stefano Locatelli (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  87. Daniele Colli (Yellow Fluo) s.t.
  88. Tom Stamsnijder (Giant-Shimano) s.t.
  89. Ian Boswell (Sky) s.t.
  90. Dmitry Kozonchuk (Katusha) s.t.
  91. Andrea Zordan (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  92. Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  93. Dayer Quintana Rojas (Movistar) @ 16min 56sec
  94. Kiel Reijnen (United Healthcare) @ 19min 29sec
  95. Edward Diaz Cardenas (Colombia) s.t.
  96. Davide Frattini (United Helathcare) s.t.
  97. Adrien Niyonshuti (MTN-Qhubeka) s.t.
  98. Matthias Krizek (Cannondale) s.t.
  99. Darwin Pantoja (Colombia) s.t.
  100. Enrico Barbin (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  101. Jim Songezo (MTN-Qhubeka) s.t.

More photos from 2013 Roma Maxima

Domenico Pozzovivo

At Rocca di Papa Domenico Pozzovivo is on the attack

Domenico pozzovivo and Alejandro Valverde

With 30 km to go Domenico Pozzovivo and Alejandro Valverde were clear. Near the finish Pozzovivo was caught by the pack but Valverde stayed clear, just barely.

Nairo Quintana

Nairo Quintana

Ivan Basso

Ivan Basso

Philippe Gilbert

Philippe Gilbert

Filippo Pozzato

Filippo Pozzato

Alejandro Valverde

Alejandro Valverde showed a clean pair of wheels in Rome

Davide Appolonio wins the field sprint

Davide Appollonio (Ag2r) wins the field sprint.

2014 podium

2014 podium, from left: Davide Appollonio, Alejandro Valverde and Sonny Colbrelli

2014 Roma Maxima map and profile

2014 Roma Maxima map

2014 Roma Maxima race map

2014 Roma Maxima profile

2014 Roma Maxima profile