BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, vol.2 South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2013 Giro D'Italia: Stage 13

Results, map, stage profile, summary and photos

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, Volume 1 by Bill and Carol McGann is available as a full-length, unabridged audiobook.

Back to 2013 Giro page | Stage 13 photos (posted below results and stage maps)

Stage 13, Friday, May 17: Busseto - Cherasco, 254 km

climbRated ascent:

Stage 13 finish

The Race: 2013's longest stage. Both Bradley Wiggins and Ryder Hesjedal, suffering from colds, withdrew from the Giro today as did French champion Nacer Bouhanni. Rigoberto Uran became the Sky team leader.

The remains of the day's break (Lars Ytting Bak, Nicola Boem, Pablo Lastras) still had a 44-second lead with 23 km to go. Of course Omega Pharma led the peloton.

On the small rise out of Barolo, about 15 km to go, the attacks started going off and Astana, alert to the danger, moved to the front. Mark Cavendish stayed near the front of the maglia rosa front chase group.

At 12 km to go nine men (including Pablo Lastras and Lars Bak) had established a small gap and Omega Pharma went back to the front.

Giampaolo Caruso attacked the break and with 4 km to go the rest of the break had been mopped up and Caruso had 15 seconds. Caruso was caught with 1500 meters remaining and it was gruppo compatto. Cannondale tried to control the sprint but Mark Cavendish was again the fastest man for his fourth stage win this year.


  1. Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 6hr 9min 55sec
  2. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack) s.t.
  3. Luka Mezgec (Argos-Shimano) s.t.
  4. Brett Lancaster (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  5. Elia Viviani (Cannondale) s.t.
  6. Manuel Beletti (Ag2r) s.t.
  7. Daniele Bennati (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  8. Filippo Pozzato (Lampre) s.t.
  9. Anthony Roux (FDJ) s.t.
  10. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  11. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  12. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  13. Paul Martens (Blanco) s.t.
  14. Marco Canola (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  15. Vicente Reynes (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  16. Ramunas Navadauskas (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  17. Grega Bole (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  18. Domonique Rollin (FDJ) s.t.
  19. Enrico Battaglin (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  20. Luca Paolini (Katusha) s.t.
  21. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) s.t.
  22. Pavel Brutt (Katusha) s.t.
  23. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) s.t.
  24. Leonardo Duque (Colombia) s.t.
  25. Fabio Sabatini (Cannondale) s.t.
  26. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  27. Christian Knees (Sky) s.t.
  28. Robert Gesink (Blanco) s.t.
  29. Gert Dockx (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  30. Oscar Gatto (Vini Fantini) s.t.
  31. Salvatore Puccio (Sky) s.t.
  32. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  33. Carlos Alberto Betancur (Ag2r) s.t.
  34. Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  35. Darwin Atapuma (Colombia) s.t.
  36. Prezmyslaw Niemiec (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  37. Francis de Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  38. Adam Hansen (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  39. Cadel Evans (BMC) s.t.
  40. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  41. Ben Gastauer (Ag2r) s.t.
  42. Nelson Filipe Oliviera (Radio Shack) s.t.
  43. Vladimir Gusev (Katusha) s.t.
  44. Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini) s.t.
  45. Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  46. Fabio Felline (andorni Giocattoli) s.t.
  47. Michele Scarponi (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  48. Franco Pellizotti (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  49. Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF) s.t.
  50. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) s.t.

GC after Stage 13:

  1. mglia rosa Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) 52hr 38min 9sec
  2. Cadel Evans (BMC) @ 41sec
  3. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 2min 4sec
  4. Robert Gesink (Blanco) @ 2min 12sec
  5. Michele Scarponi (Lampre-Merida) @ 2min 13sec
  6. Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini) @ 2min 55sec
  7. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre-Merida) @ 3min 35sec
  8. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) @ 4min 5sec
  9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r) @ 4min 17sec
  10. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 4min 21sec
  11. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 5min 6sec
  12. Tanel Kangert (Astana) @ 5min 8sec
  13. Carlos Alberto Bentacur (Ag2r) @ 5min 26sec
  14. Robert Kiserlovski (Radio Shack) @ 5min 57sec
  15. Yury Trofimov (Katusha) @ 6min 8sec
  16. Franco Pellizotti (Androni Giocattoli) @ 6min 55sec
  17. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) @ 7min 46sec
  18. Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil) @ 8min 41sec
  19. Damiano Caruso (Cannondale) @ 8min 43sec
  20. Wilco Kelderman (Blanco) @ 8min 55sec
  21. Danilo Di Luca (Vini Fantini) @ 11min 37sec
  22. Francis de Greef (Lotto-Belisol) @ 12min 2sec
  23. Darwin Atapuma (Colombia) @ 12min 52sec
  24. Egoi Martinez (Euskaltel) @ 18min 12sec
  25. Francis Mourey (FDJ) @ 18min 16sec
  26. Tiago Machado (Radio Shack) @ 23min 33sec
  27. José Herrada (Movistar) @ 27min 33sec
  28. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli) @ 28min 30sec
  29. Andres Duarte (Colombia) @ 32min 35sec
  30. Juan Manuel Garate (Blanco) @ 34min 7sec
  31. Jorge Azanza (Euskaltel) @ 37min 54sec
  32. Kanstantsin Siutsou (Sky) @ 38min 15sec
  33. Petr Ignatenko (Katusha) @ 38min 50sec
  34. Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) @ 38min 57sec
  35. Steve Morabito (BMC) @ 29min 10sec
  36. Vladimir Karpets (Movistar) @ 41min 20sec
  37. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 44min32sec
  38. Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli) @ 45min 29sec
  39. Enrico Battaglin (Bardiani-CSF) @ 46min 51sec
  40. Luca Paolini (Katusha) @ 47min 31sec
  41. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Gioattoli) @ 47min 40sec
  42. Valerio Agnolli (Astana) @ 51min 14sec
  43. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) @ 51min 50sec
  44. Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) @ 54min 12sec
  45. Leonardo Duque (Colombia) @ 54min 43sec
  46. Peter Stetina (Garmin-sharp) @ 1hr 0min 54sec
  47. Ben Gastauer (Ag2r) @ 1hr 3min 7sec
  48. Paul Martens (Blanco) @ 1hr 4min 8sec
  49. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) @ 1hr 4min 13sec
  50. Kristijan Durasek (Lampre-Merida) @ 1hr 5min 13sec

Points Competition:

  1. Red Jersey Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 108 points
  2. Cadel Evans (BMC): 73
  3. Elia Viviani (Cannondale): 72
  4. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack): 59
  5. Maxim Belkov (Katusha): 55

Climber's Competition:

  1. Blue Jersey Stefano Pirazzi (Bardiani-CSF): 47 points
  2. Jackson Rodriguez (Andorni Giocattoli): 26
  3. Robinson Chalpud (Colombia): 23
  4. Maxim Belkov (Katusha): 18
  5. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar): 16

Young Rider:

  1. White Jersey Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) 52hr 42min 30sec
  2. Carlos Alberto Betancur (Ag2r) @ 1min 5sec
  3. Wilco Kelderman (BLanco) 2 4min 34sec
  4. Darwin Atapuma (Colombia) @ 8min 31sec
  5. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli) @ 24min 9sec

Team Classification:

  1. Sky 157hr 19min 28sec
  2. Blanco @ 2min 22sec
  3. Lampre-Merida @ 9min 54sec
  4. Movistar @ 10min 45sec
  5. Astana @ 11min 53sec

Stage 13 map

Stage 13 map

Stage 13 profile

Stage 13 profile

Stage 13 photos:

Piedmont Panorama

A lovely day in Piedmont as the riders pass by the vinyards.

Lars Ytting Bak

Lars Ytting Bak leads the day's break.

Pablo Lastras

Pablo Lastras (Movistar) was energetic the whole day.

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish didn't appear to be under stress on the climbs today.

Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali remained as cool as a cucumber

Taylor phinney and Cadel Evans

Taylor Phinney and Cadel Evans

Mark Cavendish and Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali staying up at the pointy part of the race with Cavendish and the Omega boys

the pack climbs

The pack climbs


Ah, Italy in May...

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish celebrates what should be his 101st pro victory.

Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali gets to spend another day in pink.