BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1969 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

24th edition: March 1, 1969

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1968 edition | 1970 edition

Gent - Gent, 193 km / 40.774 km/hr
142 starters / 101 classified finishers

Roger de Vlaeminck

Roger de Vlaeminck wins 1969 Omloop Het Volk

TThe 1969 Omloop Het Volk was Roger de Vlaeminck's first race as a professional. What a way to start what turned out to be a stunning career.

Complete Results:

1 Roger De Vlaeminck Flandria-De Clerck-Kruger 4hr 44min
2 Daniel Van Ryckeghem  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
3 Valère Van Sweevelt  Faema s.t.
4 Joseph Schoeters  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
5 Patrick Sercu  Faema s.t.
6 Eric Leman  Flandria-De Clerck-Kruger s.t.
7 Cees Zontjens  Caballero s.t.
8 Roger Rosiers  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
9 Jacques Guiot  Sonolor-Lejeune s.t.
10 Frans Verbeeck  Geens-Diamant s.t.
11 Herman Van Springel  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
12 Eddy Merckx  Faema s.t.
13 Emile Lambrechts  s.t.
14 Antoine Houbrechts  Flandria-De Clerck-Kruger s.t.
15 Bernard Vandekerckhove Faema @ 22sec
16 Wim Dubois Etalo-Siriki-Ventura @ 2min 25sec
17 Raphaël Van Bruaene  Etalo-Siriki-Ventura s.t.
18 Barry Hoban  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
19 Noël Van Clooster  Flandria-De Clerck-Kruger s.t.
20 Joseph Spruyt  Faema s.t.
21 Richard Bukacki  Pull Over Centrale-Tasmania s.t.
22 Herman Vrijders  Faema s.t.
23 Joseph Huysmans  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
24 Georges Vandenberghe  Faema s.t.
25 Roger Jochmans  Okay Whisky-Diamant-Geens s.t.
26 Jean Brusselmans  s.t.
27 Frans Mintjens  s.t.
28 Robert Legein  s.t.
29 Michel Jacquemin  s.t.
30 Freddy Decloedt  s.t.
31 Willy De Geest  s.t.
32 Eddy Peelman  s.t.
33 Léopold Van Den Neste  s.t.
34 Frans Melckenbeeck  s.t.
35 Roger Blockx  s.t.
36 Dignus Kosten  s.t.
37 Victor Nuelant  s.t.
38 Georges Claes  s.t.
39 Marian Polanski  s.t.
40 René Pijnen  s.t.
41 Jan Van der Horst  s.t.
42 Urbain De Brauwer  s.t.
43 Georges Pintens  s.t.
44 Gérard Vianen  s.t.
45 André Delaere  s.t.
46 Alphonse Scheys  s.t.
47 Philippe Crépel  s.t.
48 Ludo Vandromme  s.t.
49 Michael Wright  s.t.
50 Jean-Pierre Meyhi  s.t.
51 Frans Verstraeten  s.t.
52 Victor Van Schil  s.t.
53 Yvan Verbiest  s.t.
54 Michel Broothaerts  s.t.
55 Gilbert Maes  s.t.
56 Julien Delocht  s.t.
57 Willy Van Neste  s.t.
58 Frans Brands  s.t.
59 Michel Coulon  s.t.
60 Francis Yppersiel  s.t.
61 Winfried Boelke  s.t.
62 Willy Van Den Eynde  s.t.
63 Walter Ricci  s.t.
64 Gilbert Wuytack  s.t.
65 Rolf Wolfshohl  s.t.
66 Etienne Buysse  s.t.
67 Joseph Boons  s.t.
68 Harry Steevens  s.t.
69 Evert Dolman  s.t.
70 Johnny Schleck  s.t.
71 Joseph Van der Vleuten  s.t.
72 Bart Zoet  s.t.
73 André Dierickx  s.t.
74 Willy Vekemans  s.t.
75 Alfons De Bal  s.t.
76 Roger Cooreman  s.t.
77 Willy In't Ven  s.t.
78 Léo Duyndam @ 2min 35sec
79 Willy De Mol @ 5min 20sec
80 Jean Van Nueten  s.t.
81 Wim Deelen  s.t.
82 Jean-Marie Sohier  s.t.
83 Albert Van De Moortel  s.t.
84 Alphonse Cools  s.t.
85 Jan Harings  s.t.
86 Edouard Weckx  s.t.
87 Edouard Ernst  s.t.
88 Eric De Munster  s.t.
89 Wim Schepers @ 5min 40sec
90 Julien Stevens  s.t.
91 Cees Haast  s.t.
92 Camille Sohier  s.t.
93 Mathieu Gerrits  s.t.
94 Arie Den Hartog  s.t.
95 Leendert De Groot  s.t.
96 Johnny Brouwer  s.t.
97 Graham Gilmore  s.t.
98 Michel Quinchon  s.t.
99 Charly Grosskost  s.t.
100 Alain Hamy  s.t.
101 Sylvain Vasseur  s.t.