BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2004 Tour of Flanders - Ronde Van Vlaanderen (World Cup)

88th edition: Sunday, April 4, 2004

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | Photos | 2005 edition | 2003 edition

Gent - Meerbeke, 257 kilometers. 197 starters, 125 classified finishers

Tour of Flanders, the Inside Story

climbsAscents: Groteberge, Rekelberg, Molenberg, Wolvenberg, Oude Kwaremont, Paterberg, Koppenberg, Steenbeekdries, Taaienberg, Eikenberg, Boigneberg, Het Foreest, Steenberg, Leberg, Berendries, Tenbosse, Muur van Geraardsbergen, Bosberg

The race: It was all together at the bottom of the second-to-last climb, the Muur van Geraardsbergen, with 17 kilometers to go. Over the top, Steffen Wesemann, Leif Hoste and Dave Bruylandts got away and made it stick until the end. Hoste sat in the break while Wesemann and Bruylandts did all the work. At the sprint, Bruylandts took off and Wesemann just watched, forcing Hoste to chase. Back together, Hoste led out the sprint and Wesemann came around him for a clean win. Favorites Bettini, Van Petegem, Vandenbroucke, etc. couldn't get up to the leaders.

Stffan Wesemann wins the 2004 Tour of Flanders

Complete results:

    Story of the Tour de France Volume 2
  1. Steffen Wesemann (T-Mobile) 6hr 39min 0sec. 38.647 km/hr
  2. Leif Hoste (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  3. Dave Bruylandts (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  4. Leon Van Bon (Lotto-Domo) @ 28sec
  5. Erik Dekker (Rabobank) s.t.
  6. Andreas Klier (T-Mobile) s.t.
  7. Rolf Aldag (T-Mobile) @ 1min 9sec
  8. Frank Hoj (CSC) @ 1min 16sec
  9. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step), s.t.
  10. George Hincapie (US Postal), s.t.
  11. Thierry Marichal (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  12. Juan Antonio Flecha (Fassa Bortolo) @ 1min 17sec
  13. Laurent Brochard (Ag2r) @ 1min 30sec
  14. Jorg Ludewig (Saeco) @ 1min 38sec
  15. Johan Museeuw (Quick Step) s.t.
  16. Peter Van Petegem (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  17. Serguei Ivanov (T-Mobile) s.t.
  18. Xavier Florencio (Relax) s.t.
  19. Roberto Petito (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  20. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) s.t.
  21. Stijn Devolder (US Postal) s.t.
  22. Jaan Kirsipuu (Ag2r) @ 1min 10sec
  23. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
  24. Danilo Hondo (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  25. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) s.t.
  26. Luca Paolini (Quick Step) s.t.
  27. Ludo Dierckxsens (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  28. Mirko Celestino (Saeco) s.t.
  29. Martin Elmiger (Phonak) s.t.
  30. Roger Hammond ( s.t.
  31. Romans Vainsteins (Lampre) s.t.
  32. Cristian Moreni (Alessio-Bianchi) s.t.
  33. Nicolas Jalabert (Phonak) s.t.
  34. Staf Scheirlinckx (Cofidis) s.t.
  35. Igor Astarloa (Cofidis) s.t.
  36. Aart Vierhouten (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  37. Bert Grabsch (Phonak) s.t.
  38. Thor Hushovd (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  39. Nico Mattan (Relax-Bodysol) s.t.
  40. Tristan Hoffman (CSC) s.t.
  41. Fabian Cancellara (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  42. Chris Peers (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  43. Stephan Schreck (T-Mobile) s.t.
  44. Frank Vandenbroucke (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  45. Jan Schaffrath (T-Mobile) s.t.
  46. Steven De Jongh (Rabobank) s.t.
  47. Daniele Nardello (T-Mobile) s.t.
  48. Michael Van Haecke ( s.t.
  49. Stefano Zanini (Quick Step) @ 2min 22sec
  50. Marc Wauters (Rabobank) @ 2min 34sec
  51. Servais Knaven (Quick Step) @ 4min 56sec
  52. Geert Verheyen (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  53. Salvatore Commesso (Saeco) @ 5min 7sec
  54. Kurt-Asle Arvesen (CSC) s.t.
  55. Fabio Sacchi (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  56. Bert Hiemstra (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  57. Michele Bartoli (CSC) s.t.
  58. Benoît Joachim (US Postal) s.t.
  59. Uros Murn (Phonak) @ 7min 38sec
  60. Fabio Baldato (Alessio) s.t.
  61. Massimiliano Mori (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  62. Lars Michaelsen (CSC) s.t.
  63. Jan Kuyckx (Vlaanderen-T Interim) s.t.
  64. Gianluca Bortolami (Lampre) s.t.
  65. Maarten Den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
  66. Magnus Backstedt (Alessio-Bianchi) s.t.
  67. Erwin Thijs ( s.t.
  68. Bert Roesems (Relax-Bodysol) s.t.
  69. Frédéric Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  70. Wim Van Huffel (Vlaanderen-T Interim) s.t.
  71. Johan Coenen ( s.t.
  72. Mario Aerts (T-Mobile) s.t.
  73. Alexandre Bazhenov (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  74. Wilfried Cretskens (Quick Step) s.t.
  75. Christophe Mengin (FDJ) s.t.
  76. Scott Sutherland (Alessio-Bianchi) s.t.
  77. Paolo Fornaciari (Saeco) s.t.
  78. Jo Planckaert ( s.t.
  79. Peter Wuyts ( s.t.
  80. Max Van Heeswijk (US Postal) s.t.
  81. Lorenzo Bernucci (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  82. Alessandro Ballan (Lampre) s.t.
  83. Oscar Camenzind (Phonak) s.t.
  84. Maximilian Sciandri (CSC) s.t.
  85. Grégory Rast (Phonak) s.t.
  86. Bart Voskamp (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  87. Kim Kirchen (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  88. Serge Baguet (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  89. KarstenKroon (Rabobank) s.t.
  90. Geert Van Bondt (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  91. Bert De Waele (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  92. Wim De Vocht (Relax-Bodysol) s.t.
  93. Alberto Ongarato (Fassa Bortolo) @ 8min 36sec
  94. Alexandr Kolobnev (Domina Vacanze) @ 9min 49sec
  95. Jimmy Engoulvent (Cofidis) s.t.
  96. Andy Flickinger (Ag2r) @ 11min 20sec
  97. Mikel Artexte s.t.
  98. Geert Omloop ( s.t.
  99. Jan Van Belzen (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  100. Roy Sentjens (Rabobank) s.t.
  101. Josu Sillinoiz s.t.
  102. Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner) @ 12min 38sec
  103. Bernhard Eisel (FDJ) s.t.
  104. Cédric Hervé (FDJ) @ 13min 51sec
  105. David Clinger (Domna Vacanze) @ 15min 24sec
  106. Jimmi Madsen (CSC) @ 17min 53sec
  107. Andris Naudusz (Doimina Vacanze) s.t.
  108. Filippo Pozzato (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  109. Yuriy Krivtsov (Ag2r) s.t.
  110. Kevin Hulsmans (Quick Step) s.t.
  111. Stefano Casagranda (Saeco) s.t.
  112. Gabriele Balducci (Saeco) s.t.
  113. Martin Hvastija (Alessio-Bianchi) s.t.
  114. Paolo Bossono (Lampre) s.t.
  115. Alessandro Cortinovis (Lampre) s.t.
  116. Sébastien Hinault (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  117. Johan Verstrepen (Landbouwkrediet) s.t
  118. Antonio Cruz (US postal) s.t.
  119. Wim Vansevenant (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
  120. Johan Van Summeren (Relax-bodysol) s.t.
  121. Pablo Lastras (Illes Balears) s.t.
  122. Thomas Brunn Eriksen (CSC) s.t.
  123. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.
  124. Arki Pütsep (Ag2r) s.t.
  125. Marco Serpellini (Gerolsteiner) s.t.


2004 FTour of Flanders departure

The fans wait for the race to start in Bruges.

The bunch climbs the Old Kwaremont

Leif Hoste (center) on the Old Kwaremont

Tom Boonen climbs the old Kwaremont

Tom Boonen lead Michael Boogerd on the Old Kwaremont.

Thierry Marechal on the Molenberg

Thierry Marichal on the Molenberg

Fabian Cancellara on the Molenberg

Fabian Cancellara on the Molenberg

Peter van Petegem

Peter van Petegem

Tom Boonen

Tom Boonen

Steffen Wesemann and Dave Bruylants attack on the grammont

Steffen Wesemann and Dave Bruylandts attack on the Grammont.

George Hincapie on the Grammont

George Hincapie on the Grammont

Laurent Brochard

Former World Champion Laurent Brochard

Frank Vandenbroucke

Frank Vandenbroucke

Johan Museeuw

Johan Museeuw

Igor AStarloa

World Champion Igor Astarloa

2004 Tour of Flanders podium

2004 Tour of Flanders podium, from left: Leif Hoste, Steffen Wesemann and Dave Bruylandts