BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1957 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

41st edition: Sunday, March 31, 1957

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1958 edition | 1956 edition

242 km. 174 starters, 85 classified finishers

Ascents: Kwaremont, Statieberg, Berg ten Stene, Kloosterstraat

Fred de Bruyne

Fred de Bruyne, leading, looks like a man in a hurry.

Complete results:

51 riders were awarded 21st place and given the same time

  1. Alfred de Bruyne (Carpano-Coppi) 5hr 58min 0sec. 40.56 km/hr
  2. Jozef Planckaert (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  3. Norbert Kerkhove (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  4. Nicolas Barone (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  5. Yvo Molenaers (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  6. Gastone Nencini (Leo-Chlorodont) s.t.
  7. Seamus Elliott (Helyett-Potin) s.t.
  8. Frans Schoubben (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  9. Agostino Coletto (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  10. Désiré Keteller (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  11. Jacques Dupont (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  12. Wout Wagtmans @ 1min 10sec
  13. Germain Derycke (Faema) @ 1min 42sec
  14. Antonin Rolland (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  15. Giuseppe Minardi (Leo-Chlorodont) s.t.
  16. Bernard Gauthier (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  17. Rik van Looy (Faema) s.t.
  18. Rik van Steenbergen (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) @ 1min 57sec
  19. Roger Rosselle (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  20. Jan Zagers (Girardengo) s.t.
  21. Jan Adriaensens (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  22. Jean-Claude Annaert (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  23. André Auquier (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  24. Roger Baens (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  25. Claude Barmier (Royal-Fabric-Enform) s.t.
  26. Serge Blusson (Essor-Leroux) s.t.
  27. Jean Brankart (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  28. Giuseppe Cainero (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  29. Pino Cerami (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  30. Alex Close (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  31. Robert Coppens (De Visscher Sport) s.t.
  32. André Darrigade (Helyett-Potin) s.t.
  33. Adhémar de Blaere (Bertn-The Dura) s.t.
  34. Joseph de Feyter s.t.
  35. Marcel de Mulder s.t.
  36. Lucien de Munster s.t.
  37. Armand Desmet (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  38. Dino Donati s.t.
  39. André Dupré (Royal-Fabric-Enform) s.t.
  40. Noël Foré (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  41. Jean Forestier (Essor-Leroux) s.t.
  42. Stefano Gaggero (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  43. Michele Gismondi (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  44. Raymond Impanis (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  45. Marcel Janssens (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  46. Claude Le Ber (L.Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  47. Henri Luyten s.t.
  48. François Mahé (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  49. Lucien Mathys (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  50. René Mertens (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  51. Aldo Moser (Leo-Chlorodont) s.t.
  52. Pierre Pardoën (L. Bobet-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  53. Giuseppe Pintarelli (Leo Chlorodont) s.t.
  54. Albert Platel (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  55. Emil Reinecke s.t.
  56. Florent Rondelé (The Dura) s.t.
  57. André Rosseel (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  58. Julien Schepens (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  59. Jozef Schils (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  60. Briek Schotte (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  61. Alfred Tonello (Royal-Fabric-Enform) s.t.
  62. Willy Truye (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  63. Michel van Aerde (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  64. Ludo Van der Elst s.t.
  65. Richard van Genechten (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  66. Jan van Gompel s.t.
  67. René van Meenen s.t.
  68. Alphonse Vandenbrande s.t.
  69. Roger Verplaetse (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  70. Gerrit Voorting s.t.
  71. Victor Wartel (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  72. Maurice Bloome @ 5min 0sec
  73. Léon van Daele (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  74. Fausto Luratti s.t.
  75. Roger Decock (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  76. Joseph Groussard s.t.
  77. Henk Van den Broek (Magneet-Vredestein) s.t.
  78. Jean Callaerts (Plume-Vainqueur-Regina) s.t.
  79. Hans Brinkmann s.t.
  80. Marcel Hendrikx (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.
  81. Maurice Mollin s.t.
  82. Jean Vliegen (Libertas) s.t.
  83. Joseph Hoevenaers (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  84. Adolf Christian (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  85. André Vlayen (Peugeot-BP-Dunlop) s.t.