BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1944 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

28th edition: Sunday, April 2, 1944

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1945 edition | 1943 edition

224 km. 103 starters, 34 classified finishers

climbsAscents: Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg

Rik van Steenbergen and Briek Schotte

Rik van Steenbergen and Briek Schotte

Complete results:

  1. Rik van Steenbergen (Trialoux-Wolber) 6hr 23min. 35.09 km/hr
  2. Briek Schotte (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  3. Jozef Moerenhout (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  4. Frans Sterckx (Michard-Hutchinson) s.t.
  5. Frans Bonduel (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  6. Frans van Hellemont s.t.
  7. Célestin Riga (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  8. Albert Hendrickx (Michard-Hutchinson) s.t.
  9. Marcel Kint (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  10. Georges Claes (Trialoux-Wolber) @ 1min 5sec
  11. Lode Poels (Lucien Michard-Hutchinson) @ 1min 35sec
  12. Gustaaf van Overloop (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  13. Achiel Buysse (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  14. Stan Ockers (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  15. Jozef Somers (Trialoux-Wolber) s.t.
  16. Michel van Elsué s.t.
  17. Léopold Verschueren s.t.
  18. Jaak Engelen (Trialoux-Wolber) @ 2min 45sec
  19. Richard Depoorter (Trialoux-Wolber) @ 3min 30sec
  20. Frans Verboven @ 7min 30sec
  21. Edward van Dyck (Trialoux-Wolber) @ 10min 40sec
  22. Sylvain Grysolle @ 16min
  23. Edgard de Caluwé (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  24. Joseph Didden s.t.
  25. August van Gaever s.t.
  26. Jules Lowie (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 18min
  27. Maurice Desimpelaere (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  28. Jozef Ceuppens @ 30min
  29. Joseph Wuytack s.t.
  30. Georges Jobe s.t.
  31. Denis van Dyck (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  32. Edward Peeters @ 31min
  33. René "Flander" Janssens @ 36min
  34. André Maelbrancke (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.