BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us! CycleItalia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1938 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

22nd edition: Sunday, April 10, 1938

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1939 edition | 1937 edition

260 km. 180 starters, 29 classified finishers. The crowd rushed the finish line, making it impossible to judge more than 29 places.

climbsAscents: Karemont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg

Edgard de Caluwé

Edgard de Caluwé

Complete results:

  1. Edgard de Caluwé (Dilecta-Wolber) 7hr 42min. 33.77km/hr
  2. Sylvère Maes (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  3. Marcel Kint (Pélissier-Mercier-Dunlop) s.t.
  4. Louis Hardiquest (De Dion Bouton) s.t.
  5. Maurice Croon (Wim Sport) s.t.
  6. Constant Lauwers (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  7. Emile Masson (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  8. René Walschot (JB Louvet-Wolber) s.t.
  9. Edward Vissers (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  10. Gaston Rebry (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 25sec
  11. Emile Decroix (A. Leducq-Hutchinson) @ 2min 15sec
  12. Kamiel Beeckman (Bury) @ 3min 30sec
  13. Marcel van Schil (Helyett-Hutchinson) @ 7min
  14. Romain Maes (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 8min
  15. Joseph Moerenhout (Helyett-Hutchinson) @ 9min
  16. Richard Kemps (JB Louvet-Wolber) @ 12min
  17. François Coppens (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  18. Antoine Dignef (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  19. Roger Gyselinck @ 17min
  20. René de Walsche (Labor) @ 18min
  21. Joseph Geets s.t.
  22. Joseph Loopmans s.t.
  23. Albert de Groote (Alleluia) @ 21min
  24. Joseph van Kerkhoven @ 26min
  25. Gérard Balduck (La Nordiste) s.t.
  26. Frans Binnemans (L'Express) @ 26min 30sec
  27. François Alexander @ 35min
  28. Henri Lauwers (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  29. Omer Volcke s.t.