BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Liège - Bastogne - Liège, (Pro Tour)

91st edition: Sunday, April 24, 2005

260 kilometers. Belgium. After last year when more than 60 riders were still together with 6 kilometers to go, the oldest of races has added two more climbs (now 12) hoping for a tougher course and fewer riders at the end to contest the finish.

Podium history of Liège - Bastogne - Liège | 2006 edition | 2004 edition |

Vinokourov signals that his form is superb with an important Classic win. T-Mobile needed this tonic. Both Liège pictures by Photoreporter Sirotti.

Complete Results: 197 starters, 113 classified finishers

  1. Alexandre Vinokourov (T-Mobile) 6hr 29min 9sec. 40.09 km/hr
  2. Jens Voigt (CSC) s.t.
  3. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 14sec
  4. Paolo Bettini (Quick Step) @ 24sec
  5. Cadel Evans (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  6. David Etxebarria (Liberty Seguros) @ 27sec
  7. Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero (Phonak) @ 28sec
  8. Mirko Celestino (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  9. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  10. Angel Vicioso (Liberty Seguros) s.t.
  11. Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  12. Matthias Kessler (T-Mobile) @ 31sec
  13. Jorg Jaksche (Liberty Seguros) @ 54sec
  14. Laurent Brochard (Bouygues Telecom) @ 59sec
  15. Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner) @ 1min 2sec
  16. Christophe Brandt (Davitamon-Lotto) @ 1min 4sec
  17. Nicki Sorensen (CSC) @ 1min 10sec
  18. Ivan Basso (CSC) s.t.
  19. Kim Kirchen (Fassa Bortolo) @ 1min 18sec
  20. Oscar Pereiro (Phonak) @ 1min 33sec
  21. Andrey Kechechkin (Credit Agricole) @ 1min 35sec
  22. Leonardo Bertagnolli (Cofidis) @ 3min 28sec
  23. Didier Rous (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  24. Wim van Huffel (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  25. Joaquin Rodriguez (Saunier duval) s.t.
  26. Patrik Sinkewitz (Quick Step) @ 3min 30sec
  27. Danilo Di Luca (Liquigas) s.t.
  28. Karsten Kroon (Rabobank) s.t.
  29. Pieter Weeking (Rabobank)@ 5min 29sec
  30. Johan van Summeren (Davitamon-Lotto) @ 9min 31sec
  31. Marjust Ljungqvist (Liquigas) @ 11min 52sec
  32. Serge Baguet (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  33. Erik Dekker (Rabobank) @ 12min 57sec
  34. Alejandro Valverde (Illes Balears) @ 13min 56sec
  35. Santiago Botero (Phonak) @ 15min 10sec
  36. Patrice Halgand (Credit Agricole) @ 16min 6sec
  37. Thomas Voeckler (Bouygues Telecom) s.t
  38. Christophe Moreau (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  39. Yoann Le Boulanger (RAGT Semences) s.t.
  40. Cédric Vasseur (Cofidis) s.t.
  41. Christophe Le Mevel (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  42. Pieter Mertens (Chocolade Jacques) s.t.
  43. Addy Engels (Quick Step) s.t.
  44. Matej Mugerli (Liquigas) s.t.
  45. Vicente Reynes (Illes Balears) s.t.
  46. Johan Coenen (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  47. Christophe Rinero (RAGT Semences) s.t.
  48. Massimo Codol (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  49. Sylvain Chavanel (Cofidis) s.t.
  50. Laurent Paumier (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  51. Tadej Valjavec (Phonak) s.t.
  52. Patrick Calgani (Liquigas) s.t.
  53. Fabian Jeker (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  54. Manuele Mori (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  55. Dario Frigo (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  56. Gorazd Stangelj (Lampre) s.t.
  57. Renaud Dion (RAGT Semences) s.t.
  58. Juan Manuel Garate (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  59. David Loosli (Lampre) s.t.
  60. Maarten Den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
  61. Pietro Caucchioli (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  62. Xabier Zandio (Illes Balears) s.t.
  63. Frank Schleck (CSC) s.t.
  64. Francesco Bellotti (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  65. Kurt-Asle Arvesen (CSC) s.t.
  66. Vladimir Gusev (CSC) s.t.
  67. Massimo Giunti (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
  68. Cyril Dessel (Ag2r) s.t.
  69. Jurgen Van den Broeck (Discovery Channel) s.t.
  70. Sergio Paulinho (Liberty Seguros) s.t.
  71. Thierry Marichal (Cofidis) s.t.
  72. Marc Lotz (Quick Step) s.t.
  73. Andrea Moletta (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
  74. Pavel Padrnos (Discovery Channel) s.t.
  75. Ben Day (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  76. Maxime Monfort (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  77. Kurt Van de Wouwer (Mr. Bookmaker) s.t.
  78. Kjel Carlstrom (Liquigas) s.t.
  79. Philip Deignan (Ag2r) s.t.
  80. Bingen Fernandez (Cofidis) s.t.
  81. Axel Merckx (Davitamon-lotto) s.t.
  82. Patxi Xabier Vila Errandonea (Lampre) s.t.
  83. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  84. Sylvester Szmyd (Lampre) s.t.
  85. Inogo Landaluze (Euskaltel) s.t.
  86. Bjorn Leukemans (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  87. Joost Posthuma (Rabobank) s.t.
  88. Thomas Lovkvist (FDJ) s.t.
  89. Constantino Zaballa (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  90. Dmitriy Fofonov (Cofidis) s.t.
  91. David Moncoutié (Cofidis) s.t.
  92. Francisco Mancebo (Illes Balears) s.t.
  93. Johan Tschopp (Phonak) s.t.
  94. Preben van Hecke (Davitamon-Lotto) s.t.
  95. Mikel Astarloza (Ag2r) s.t.
  96. Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
  97. Thierry de Groote (Lanbouwkrediet) s.t.
  98. Andrea Peron (CSC) s.t.
  99. Bert de Waele (Landboutkrediet) s.t.
  100. Alessandro Vanotti (Domina Vacanze) s.t.
  101. Peter Luttenberger (CSC) s.t.
  102. Marcos Serrano (Liberty Seguros) s.t.
  103. Inaki Isasi (Euskaltel) s.t.
  104. Maryan Hary (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  105. Nicolas Vogondy (Credit Agricole) s.t.
  106. Freddy Bichot (FDJ) s.t.
  107. Volodomyr Gustov (Fassa Bortolo) @ 16min 22sec
  108. Steve Zampieri (Phonak) @ 16min 25sec
  109. Iker Camano (Euskaltel) @ 16min 31sec
  110. Juan Carlos Dominguez (Saunier Duval) s.t.
  111. Benny de Schrooder (Chocolade Jacques) @ 16min 34sec
  112. Stijn Devolder (Discovery Channel) @ 17min 10sec
  113. Vincenzo Nibali (Fassa Bortolo) @ 17min 58sec

They're gone. Voigt and Vinokourov took off with about 50 kilometers to go. The pack stayed about 1 minute behind and were never able to close the gap.