BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1976 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

38th edition, April 6, 1976

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1975 edition | 1977 edition

262 km / 41.872 km/hr
182 starters, 60 classified finishers

Freddy Maertens

Winner Freddy Maertens

Complete Results:

1 Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Velda) 6hr 15min 15sec
2 Rik Van Linden (Bianchi-Campagnolo) s.t.
3 Frans Verbeeck (Ijsboerke- Colnago) s.t.
4 Piet Van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
5 Walter Planckaert (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
6 Roger De Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) s.t.
7 Francesco Moser (Sanson) s.t.
8 Dietrich Thurau (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
9 André Dierickx (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
10 Eddy Merckx (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
11 Joop Zoetemelk (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
12 André Mollet (Maes Pils-Rokado) @ 2min 10sec
13 Roger Swerts (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
14 Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke- Colnago) s.t.
15 Ferdi Van Den Haute (Ebo-Cinzia) @ 6min 45sec
16 Léon Thomas (Lejeune-BP) s.t.
17 Charly Rouxel (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
18 Willy Teirlinck (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
19 Dirk Baert (Carlos) s.t.
20 Luc Leman (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
21 Ronald De Witte (Brooklyn) s.t.
22 Marc Lievens (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
23 Régis Delépine (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 6min 59sec
24 Ronny Van De Vijver (Ijsboerke- Colnago) s.t.
25 Jean-Louis Danguillaume (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
26 Eric Van De Wiele (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
27 Herman Van Der Slagmolen (Brooklyn) s.t.
28 André Gevers (Lejeune-BP) s.t.
29 Cees Priem (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
30 Willy In't Ven (Gero-Eurosol) s.t.
31 Guy Sibille (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
32 Frans Verhaegen (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
33 Rafael Constant (Zoppas-Splendor-Sinalco) s.t.
34 Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
35 Joseph Bruyère (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
36 Patrick Lefevere (Ebo-Cinzia) @ 16min 40sec
37 Jan Van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
38 Frans Van Looy (Molteni-Campagnolo) @ 17min 55sec
39 Renato Marchetti (Sanson) s.t.
40 Jos Van De Poel (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
41 Aad Van Den Hoek (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
42 Ottavio Crepaldi (Brooklyn) @ 18min 25sec
43 Marcello Osler (Brooklyn) s.t.
44 Eric Jacques (Ebo-Cinzia) @ 21min 35sec
45 Dieudonné Depireux (Zoppas-Splendor-Sinalco) s.t.
46 Tino Tabak (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
47 Albert Hulzebosch (Ormas-Sharp) s.t.
48 Manuel Santos Castillo (Carlos) s.t.
49 Patrick Perret (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
50 Patrick Cluzaud (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
51 Adrien Deleeuw (Gero-Eurosol) s.t.
52 Giovanni José Jimenez Ocampo (Gero-Eurosol) s.t.
53 Willi Singer (Bianchi-Campagnolo) s.t.
54 Herman Vrijders (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
55 Paul Wellens (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
56 Wim Prinsen (Gero-Eurosol) s.t.
57 Gérard Vianen (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
58 Adri Jos Schipper (Ormas-Sharp) s.t.
59 Gérard Kamper (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
60 Harm Ottenbros (Ormas-Sharp) s.t.