BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1965 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

27th edition, March 21, 1965

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1964 edition | 1966 edition

235 km / 41.964 km/hr
136 starters, 46 classified finishers

Noel De Pauw

Winner Noël De Pauw

Complete Results:

1 Noël De Pauw (Solo-Superia) 5hr 36min
2 Bernard Vandekerkhove (Solo-Superia) @ 37sec
3 Gustaaf Desmet (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 1min 3sec
4 Seamus Elliott (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) 1'32"
5 Edward Sels (Solo-Superia) 1'35"
6 Willy Vannitsen (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
7 Carmine Preziosi (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
8 Arthur Decabooter (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
9 Norbert Kerckhove (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
10 Michael Wright (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
11 Benoni Beheyt (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
12 Léo Van Dongen (Televizier) s.t.
13 Victor Van Schil (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
14 René Van Meenen (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
15 Rik Van Looy (Solo-Superia) s.t.
16 Joseph Huysmans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
17 Hans Junkermann (Margnat-Paloma-Inuri-Dunlop) s.t.
18 Edgard Sorgeloos (Solo-Superia) s.t.
19 Armand Desmet (Solo-Superia) 3'12"
20 Jo De Haan (Televizier) 3'15"
21 Fernand Deferm (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
22 Henk Cornelisse (Televizier) s.t.
23 Frans Verbeeck (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
24 Henri De Wolf (Solo-Superia) s.t.
25 Georges Vandenberghe (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
26 Cees Van Espen (Televizier) s.t.
27 Cees Haast (Televizier) s.t.
28 Julien Stevens (Solo-Superia) s.t.
29 Dick Groeneweg (Televizier) s.t.
30 Théo Nys (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
31 Michel Grain (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
32 Henk Nijdam (Televizier) s.t.
33 Jean-Pierre Genêt (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
34 Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
35 Clément Roman (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
36 Alain Le Grevès (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
37 Vincent Denson (Ford France-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
38 Albert Covens (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
39 André Messelis (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
40 Dieter Puschel (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
41 Jacques De Boever (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
42 Piet Damen (Televizier) s.t.
43 Wim De Jager (Ruberg-Caltex) s.t.
44 Roger Milliot (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) 6'30"
45 André Retrain (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
46 Marcel Seurin (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.