BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1979 La Flèche Wallonne

43rd Edition: April 10, 1979

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1978 edition | 1980 edition

Esneux - Marcinelle,
248 km, 39.79 km/hr
188 starters, 61 classified finishers

Bernard Hinault

1979 Flèche Wallone winner Bernard Hinault racing in the 1980 Tour de France

Complete results:

1 Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) 6hr 14min
2 Giuseppe Saronni (SCIC-Bottecchia) s.t.
3 Bernt Johansson (Magniflex-Famcucine) s.t.
4 Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair) @ 17sec
5 Fons De Wolf (Boule d'Or-Lano-Colnago) s.t.
6 Marc Renier (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
7 Joop Zoetemelk (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel) s.t.
8 René Bittinger (Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
9 Hennie Kuiper (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
10 Willy Teirlinck (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
11 Herman Van Springel (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
12 Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh-McGregor) s.t.
13 Daniel Willems (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
14 Gerrie Knetemann (TI-Raleigh-McGregor) s.t.
14 Gianbattista Baronchelli (Magniflex-Famcucine) s.t.
16 René Martens (Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
17 Lucien Van Impe (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
18 Dietrich Thurau (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
19 Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
20 Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) @ 1min 15sec
21 Claude Criquielion (KAS-Campagnolo) 1'50"
22 Walter Dalgal (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
23 Jacques Bossis (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
24 Pascal Simon (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
25 Dirk Wayenberg (Safir-St. Louis-Ludo) s.t.
26 Emiel Gijsemans (Mini Flat-Vdb-Pirelli) s.t.
27 Herman Van Der Slagmolen (Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
28 Jo Maas (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-Aida) s.t.
29 Adri Jos Schipper (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
30 Jacques Martin (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
31 Frits Pirard (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel) s.t.
32 Fridolin Keller (Willora-Piz Buin-Bonanza) s.t.
33 Pierre-Raymond Villemiane (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
34 Johan Van Der Velde (TI-Raleigh-McGregor) s.t.
35 Graham Jones (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
36 Pol Verschuere (Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
37 Alfio Vandi (Magniflex-Famcucine) s.t.
38 Roger De Cnijf (Boule d'Or-Lano-Colnago) s.t.
39 André Chalmel (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
40 Eddy Schepers (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-Aida) s.t.
41 Jean-luc Vandenbroucke (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
42 Jan Van Houwelingen (Boule d'Or-Lano-Colnago) s.t.
43 Beat Breu (Willora-Piz Buin-Bonanza) s.t.
44 Jean Van Der Stappen s.t.
45 André Dierickx (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
46 Klaus Peter Thaler (TI-Raleigh-McGregor) s.t.
47 Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
48 Michel Laurent (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
49 Piet Van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh-McGregor) s.t.
50 Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Safir-St. Louis-Ludo) 6'
51 Mario Mariotti (Flandria-Ca Va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
52 Fedor Den Hertog (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
53 William Tackaert (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-Aida) s.t.
54 Gérard Simonnot 15'
55 Roy Schuiten (SCIC-Bottecchia) s.t.
56 Bernard Quilfen (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
57 Gerhard Schönbacher (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-Aida) s.t.
58 Bert Pronk (TI-Raleigh-McGregor) s.t.
59 Rudy Colman (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Gios) s.t.
60 Hubert Linard (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
61 Roberto Ceruti (Magniflex-Famcucine) s.t.