BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1971 La Flèche Wallonne

35th Edition: April 22, 1971

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1970 edition | 1972 edition

Liege - Marcinelle,
225 km, 38.03 km/hr
138 starters, 60 classified finishers

Roger de Vlaeminck

1971 Flèche Wallone winner Roger de Vlaeminck

Complete results:

1 Roger De Vlaeminck (Mars-Flandria) 5hr 55min
2 Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
3 Joseph De Schoenmaecker (Molteni-Arcore) @ 6sec
4 Joop Zoetemelk (Mars-Flandria) @ 1min 13sec
5 Walter Godefroot (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) 4'45"
6 Herman Van Springel (Molteni-Arcore) 5'32"
7 Eddy Schutz (Mars-Flandria) 6'28"
8 Gerben Karstens (Goudsmit-Hoff) 11'25"
9 Christian Callens (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
10 Gianni Motta (Salvarani) s.t.
11 Maurice Eyers (Watney-Avia) s.t.
12 Victor Van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
13 Ferdinand Bracke (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
14 Joseph Spruyt (Molteni) 11'40"
15 Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
16 Edward Janssens (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
17 Franco Balmamion (Scic) 15'50"
18 Jan Krekels (Goudsmit-Hoff) 23'05"
19 Harrie Steevens s.t.
20 Eric Leman (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
21 Barry Hoban (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
22 Gérard Harings (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
23 Jan Janssen (Bic) s.t.
24 Wim Schepers (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
25 Julien Van Lint (Molteni) s.t.
26 Charly Grosskost (Bic) s.t.
27 Frans Van Der Slagmolen s.t.
28 Celestino Vercelli (Scic) s.t.
29 Yves Hézard (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
30 Englebert Opdebeeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
31 José Catieau (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
32 Pol Mahieu (Watney-Avia) s.t.
33 Raymond Delisle (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
34 Michael Wright (Bic) s.t.
35 Ronny Van De Vijver (Goldor) s.t.
36 Eddy Reyniers (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
37 André Poppe (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
38 Walter Ricci (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
39 Wim Prinsen (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
40 Jean-Pierre Parenteau (Peugeot - Michelin - BP) s.t.
41 Jan Van Katwijk (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
42 André Doyen (Bic) s.t.
43 Carlo Chiappano (Scic) s.t.
44 Jean Jourden (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
45 Roger Cooreman (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
46 Willy Vekemans (Hertekamp - Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
47 Lucien Van Impe (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
48 Willy In't Ven (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
49 Christian Brasseur (Goldor) s.t.
50 Joseph Huysmans (Molteni) s.t.
51 Guy Santy (Bic) s.t.
52 Lucien Aimar (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
53 Alain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
54 Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
55 Alain Santy (Bic) s.t.
56 Jean-Luc Molinéris (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
57 Adriano Pella (Scic) 23'26"
58 Tino Tabak (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
59 Karl-Heinz Muddemann (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
60 Willy Scheers (Goldor) 40'00"