BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1980 Amstel Gold Race

15th Edition: Saturday, April 5, 1980

Complete Amstel Gold Race podium history | 1981 edition | 1979 edition |

Heerlen - Meerssen, Netherlands
238 km, 41.46 km/hr

Jan Raas

Jan Raas

Complete results:

146 starters, 66 classified finishers

1  Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh-Creda)   5hr 44min 27sec 
2  Fons De Wolf (Boule d'Or-Colnago-Studio Casa)   
3  Sean Kelly (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres)   
4  Jean Chassang (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo)   
5  Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo)   
6  Jacques Bossis (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
7  Daniel Willems (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Koga Miyata)   
8  Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
9  Jo Maas (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
10  Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Safir-Ludo)   
11  Hennie Kuiper (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
12  Sven-Åke Nilsson (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel)  @ 3 seconds
13  Michel Pollentier (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres)  7" 
14  Patrick Pevenage (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)  1'18" 
15  Oscar Dierickx (Safir-Ludo)  2'28" 
16  Johan Van Der Meer (HB Alarmsystemen)   
17  Yvon Bertin (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo)   
18  Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh-Creda)   
19  Willy Maessen (Rauler-Gipiemme)   
20  Gottfried 'Gody' Schmutz (Cilo-Aufina)   
21  Willy Teirlinck (Safir-Ludo)  3'32" 
22  José De Cauwer (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
23  Hans Langerijs (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
24  Bert Scheunemann (Kondor)  
25  Roelof Groen (HB Alarmsystemen)   
26  Joël Gallopin (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel)  
27  Peter Kehl (Kondor-Campagnolo)   
28  René Martens (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
29  Léo Van Vliet (TI-Raleigh-Creda)   
30  Ronny Claes (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Koga Miyata)   
31  Jos Lammertink (HB Alarmsystemen)   
32  Marcel Summermatter (Cilo-Aufina)   
33  Maurice Le Guilloux (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo)   
34  Patrick Perret (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
35  Adri Jos Schipper (Marc-Carlos-VRD)   
36  Hubert Linard (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
37  Bert Pronk (TI-Raleigh-Creda)   
38  Joseph Wehrli (Cilo-Aufina)   
39  Roger De Cnijf (Boule d'Or-Colnago-Studio Casa)   
40  Pascal Simon (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
41  Martin Havik (HB Alarmsystemen)   
42  Roland Berland (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo)   
43  Kim Andersen (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel)   
44  Joop Zoetemelk (TI-Raleigh-Creda)   
45  Gerrie Knetemann (TI-Raleigh-Creda)   
46  Raymond Martin (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel)   
47  André Chalmel (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo)   
48  Frits Pirard (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel)  3'40" 
49  Ronan Onghena (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres)  6'35" 
50  Serge Demierre (Cilo-Aufina)   
51  Eddy Schepers (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
52  Guy Nulens (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
53  André Gevers (HB Alarmsystemen)   
54  Guy Sibille (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin)   
55  Alain Vigneron (Les Amis du Tour de France)   
56  Beat Breu (TI-Raleigh-Creda)  9'15" 
57  Theo De Rooy (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Koga Miyata)   
58  William Tackaert (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
59  Gerard Blockx (Mini Flat-Vermeer Thijs)  
60  Co Moritz (HB Alarmsystemen)   
61  Hennie Stamsnijder (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ)   
62  Daniel Gisiger (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel)   
63  Olivier Van Tielcke (Boule d'Or-Colnago-Studio Casa)  12'35" 
64  Thierry Bolle (Cilo-Aufina)   
65  Benny Van Der Auwera (Boule d'Or-Colnago-Studio Casa)   
66  Heddie Nieuwdorp (HB Alarmsystemen)