BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1979 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

46th edition: Sunday, August 26, 1979
Valkenburg, Netherlands

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1980 edition | 1978 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

114 riders started, 44 classified finishers.
274.8 km. Winner's average speed: 38.97 km/hr

Jan Raas

Jan Raas at the 1979 GP Kevinator

Complete Results:

  1. Jan Raas (Netherlands) 7hr 3min 9sec
  2. Dietrich Thurau (Germany) s.t.
  3. Jean-René Bernaudeau (France) s.t.
  4. André Chalmel (France) @ 5sec
  5. Henk Lubberding (Netherlands) @ 12sec
  6. Giovanni Battaglin (Italy) @ 23sec
  7. Knut Knudsen (Norway) @ 52sec
  8. Giuseppe Saronni (Italy) @ 4min 37sec
  9. Sean Kelly (Ireland) s.t.
  10. Roger de Vlaeminck (Belgium) s.t.
  11. Klaus-Peter Thaler (Germany) s.t.
  12. Gregor Braun (Germany) s.t.
  13. Gerrie Knetemann (Netherlands) s.t.
  14. Bernard Vallet (France) s.t.
  15. José-Luis Viejo (Spain) s.t.
  16. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  17. Jean Chassang (France) s.t.
  18. Michel Pollentier (Belgium) s.t.
  19. Hennie Kuiper (Netherlands) s.t.
  20. Marino Amadori (Italy) s.t.
  21. Bernard Hinault (France) s.t.
  22. Claude Criquielion (Belgium) @ 5min 1sec
  23. Frits Pirard (Netherlands) @ 5min 19sec
  24. Clyde Sefton (Australia) @ 6min 44sec
  25. Maurice Le Guilloux (France) s.t.
  26. Keith Lambert (Great Britain) s.t.
  27. Bruno Wolfer (Switzerland) s.t.
  28. Johan Van der Velde (Netherlands) s.t.
  29. Fridolin Keller (Switzerland) s.t.
  30. Miguel-Maria Lasa (Spain) s.t.
  31. Michel Laurent (France) s.t.
  32. Pedro Torres (Spain) s.t.
  33. Stephen Mutter (Switzerland) s.t.
  34. Erich Jagsch (Austria) s.t.
  35. Per Bausager (Denmark) s.t.
  36. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (France) s.t.
  37. Yves Hézard (France) s.t.
  38. Roland Berland) s.t.
  39. Jorgen Marcussen (Denmark) s.t.
  40. Sven-Ake Nilsson (Swededn) s.t.
  41. Josef Fuchs (Switzerland) s.t.
  42. Faustino Ruperez (Spain) @ 13min 3sec
  43. Gody Schmutz (Switzerland) s.t.
  44. Jurgen Kraft (Germany) @ 17min 40sec